Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Applied Statistics: Home

This guide is for Professor Anderson's MATH 1700 Applied Statistics class.

How do I identify a research article?

The typical research study will include a research question, a specific group of subjects to be tested, the method used to test the theory, actual testing and measuring, and then a summary of the data collected. These findings are then written up into a research report and submitted for publication in professional journals. Research articles typically includes these sections:

  • Abstract
     
  • Literature review
     
  • Methodology of experiment
     
  • Research
     
  • Results
     
  • Areas of further study
     
  • Conclusion
     
  • Bibliography

Find News Articles

The Library has two options for finding newspaper articles:

  • ProQuest Newspapers - This database provides full-text coverage of major Massachusetts newspapers, plus selected coverage of other regional sources such as Boston Globe, Boston Herald, Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg, MA), The Sun (Lowell, MA), Telegram & Gazette (Worcester, MA), Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Denver Post, USA Today and The Washington Post.

 

  • You can find the print versions of the following newspapers in the Library:
  • Boston Globe
  • Boston Herald
  • New York Times
  • Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg)
  • Telegram & Gazette (Worcester)
  • Wall Street Journal

Find Research Articles

Communications Media

Criminal Justice

Environmental Biology

Exercise & Sport Science

Human Services

Nursing

Political Science

Psychology

Secondary Education/History

Sociology

Find Data Sets

Communications Media

  • Gallup - conducts public opinion polls in nearly 140 countries.
  • Pew Research Center - a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Criminal Justice

Environmental Biology

Exercise & Sport Science

Human Services

  • AARP AgeSource - database for finding worldwide age-related data.  To see all available US data: select Information Type - "Statistical Resource", Geographic Coverage - "United States", Language of Contents - "English" and then click "submit".
  • Center for Disease Control and Prevention FastStats - statistics for a variety of public health topics.

Nursing

Political Science

  • SDA Archive - Archive of census data, racial and prejudice survey data, and labor and health surveys from the Computer-assisted Survey Methods Program (CSM) at the University of California, Berkeley.

Psychology

Secondary Education/History

Sociology

General

Subject Guide

Connie Strittmatter's picture
Connie Strittmatter
Contact:
HA-100, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Hammond Hall
978-665-4222