Skip to main content

Introduction to Criminal Justice: Home

A research guide for Professor David Weiss' CJ 2000: Introduction to Criminal Justice

Welcome

Use these Library resources to help you write your Introduction to Criminal Justice research paper!

Find Books

In the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

 

APA Style Resources

When using the library's research databases, many (such as Academic Search Complete) provide the option to place the document's citation information into the the style format of your choice when you go to print, save or email it. Remember to select the APA format (or which ever style your professor requires) and you can save yourself some time. For online resources that don't have this option and when citing from print resources, print and online APA Style manuals are available.

Not sure how to cite a resource? Ask A Librarian!

Helpful APA related sites to assist you with proper citations:

Citation Management Tool

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research.  RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your bibliography/references (whether annotated or not) and final paper in the correct style.  

You can use RefWorks to:

  • Organize references
  • Format bibliographies
  • Create a database of your own citations
  • Import references directly from library databases
  • Insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies using the Write-n-Cite tool
  • Share your citations with a group

For LEGACY REFWORKS ONLY:  Off-Campus users will need to entergroup code: RWFSC to get access. Choose the "Export to RefWorks" option in most databases.

Note: You must have popups enabled for RefWorks to work properly.

Find Articles

Scholarly Journals vs Magazines/Trade Journals

What is the difference between scholarly/academic/peer reviewed journal articles and magazines or trade journals??
Look for the following to identify an academic or peer reviewed journal article:

  • written by expert in field (a professor or other academic)
  • authors are not paid to publish their research
  • conducts research study or builds on another's research
  • article contains abstract, summarizing research
  • cites sources, contains references and bibliography
  • academic journals are not in the business to make money; magazines and trade journals are

For more information, take a look at this site:

Find Government Information

 The U.S. government produces a wide variety of useful information published by federal departments and agencies:

Understanding Your Topic

Before you begin doing your research, it is important to know exactly what you are looking for. Narrowing down your topic will help search engines and article databases bring back the most relevant results. Mind Map Your Topic will help you learn more about your topic and narrow it down to something manageable.

ILLiad: Get Articles, Books or A/V from Another Library

Subject Guide

Useful Resources