Skip to main content

Exercise & Sports Science Research Guide

This guide provides resources and information to help you get started with your research projects in the field of exercise and sports science. Need additional help? Please contact me!

Where to Look

Have a topic and you know something about it? Start off by searching in a subject database for a discipline related to your topic.

Searching for topic ideas or need to get some background information? Start off by searching in a reference database or a multidisciplinary database (this type of database contains journals and other source types across a broad range of disciplines).

Have a citation and need to find the actual article? Use the Journal Locator Tool located on this guide or the library's website. Here's how:

  1. Type the name of the Journal into the search box and click Search.
  2. If it finds a journal with that name in our collections, it will display the journal info, the date range we have access to the full text, and it's location.  
    • If the location says it is in our print holdings, we have the physical journal in the library. Physical journals are on the second floor, in alphabetical order by journal title.
    • If the location lists one or more databases whose full text date range covers the publication of the specific article you are looking for, click on the database name to access the journal. Do the same if the link is to the eJournal. Once in the database or eJournal there is usually a "search within this publication" link/box where you can type/paste the title of the article to go right to it. 

Image of a search in the journal locator search tool.

Journal Locator Tool

Type in the name of a journal to see if the AVGC Library has access to it online or in our print collection:

 

 

On the Web

Featured Exercise & Sports Science Journals in our Collections

Here is a sampling of the Exercise and Sports Science journals in our online and print collections: