Research Help: Mathematics Research Guide: Teaching Mathematics

Organizations

American Mathematical Society
The society's Web site is divided into 8 audience areas for members, authors, employment, meetings, what's new in mathematics, govt. affairs, publications and research tools.
EMIS: European Mathematical Information Service
Membership consists of all mathematical societies in Europe.
Mathematical Association of America
The society serves 30,000 members which include university faculty, two-year college faculty, high school teachers, govt. and corporate workers, graduate faculty, research mathematicians and graduate and undergraduate students. Includes meeting notices, employment opportunities and a set of electronic journals.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)

Indexes/Abstracts

ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics; access to over 745 top educational publications, including nearly 600 of the titles in full text.
ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to full text, references, citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals the majority of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the journal literature, ERIC indexes education-related materials from a variety of sources, including scholarly organizations, professional associations, research centers, policy organizations, university presses, the U.S. Department of Education and other federal agencies, and state and local agencies. Individual contributors submit conference papers, research papers, dissertations, and theses. Many of these ERIC documents provide access to full text as well.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database featuring scholarly articles, trade and popular news features.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 1,700 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a specialized collection of nearly 520 education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Journals

Websites

K- 12
Center for Innovation in Mathematics Teaching Although British in origin this easy-to-navigate site provides new and relevant information on teaching mathematics, (Gr 1-11) touching on the perspectives of both a traditional skill-based curricula and a more conceptual reform curricula. It also provides project descriptions, mathematical lessons, puzzles and competitions, athletic competition statistics, and links to other similar Math web sites.

Internet School Library Media Center MATHEMATICS RESOURCES K-12

Math2.org Provides math reference tables, formulas, trigonometric graphs, statistics and statistical distribution and tables of integrals.

Math Archives Provides a wide range of links to software, teaching materials and topics in mathematics.

Math Forum Operating under Drexel's School of Education, the mission is to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.

Mathematical Functions A compendium of mathematical functions published as tables of functions.

S.O.S. MATHematics Assistance for high school students. Provides explanations, tutorial aids, homework help, etc. Includes algebra, trigonometry, differential equations, complex variables, matrix algebra, tables, cyberExam, and CyberBoard.

Higher Education
Changing the Way We Teach Math: A Manual for Teaching Basic Math to Adults A manual for teaching basic math to adults.

Math2.org Provides math reference tables, formulas, trigonometric graphs, statistics and statistical distribution and tables of integrals.

Math Archives Provides a wide range of links to software, teaching materials and topics in mathematics.

Mathematical Sciences Digital Library - managed by the Mathematical Association, this site offers online resources for both teachers and students of collegiate mathematics.

SABES Math Bulletin A pubication of SABES, the System for Adult Basic Education Support. Its mission is to make math research accessible to ABE practitioners.

Reference Books
Wolfram MathWorld - touted as the Web's "most complete mathematical resource", MathWorld is a comprehensive mathematics encyclopedia designed for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers.

PRIME Mathematic Encyclopedia - online encyclopedia designed primarily for math educators, with over 1,000 entries.

Subject Guide

Lori Steckervetz

she/they

Email Me

Contact:

Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Room 100

(978) 665-3849

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Citing Sources, DIY Library Help, Earth & Geographic Sciences, Exercise and Sport Science, Faculty/Staff, Graduate Students, Leadership Academy, Mathematics, Other Guides, Psychology, Research Help, Services, STEM Starter Academy