Skip to main content

Music Research Guide: Journals, Databases and Streaming Music

Music Resources for support of the humanities minor.

Streaming Music

Fitchburg State subscribes to Music Online a database that streams audio and video, including full operas, jazz and American music, classical, even pop and rock.

Music can be listened to for free and downloaded for a small fee (similar to iTunes, except you can listen to a full track instead of a sample).

  • African American Music Reference
  • American Song
  • Classical Music Library
  • Classical Music Reference Library
  • Classical Scores Library
  • Contemporary World Music
  • Dance in Video
  • The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
  • Jazz Music Library
  • Opera in Video
  • Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Databases: Music

Additional Databases: Music

Library of Congress National Jukebox

The Library of Congress debuted the National Jukebox in 2011, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.

At launch, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.

Find a Specific Journal

If you know the title of a specific journal you are looking for, but aren't sure whether Fitchburg State has access to it, check in Journal Locator. Searches show whether the title is available in one of our databases, or is available in the print periodicals collection on the 2nd floor.

Fitchburg State Journal Locator

Want to browse journals in a discipline? Go to Journal locator, type the subject term in the search box, and then choose "Title Contains All Words" from the drop-down menu. (i.e. "Music")

Subject Guide

Renée Fratantonio's picture
Renée Fratantonio
Contact:
HA-106, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library, Hammond Hall
978-665-4219