Research Help: FHS Honors Academy 2022: Library Resources

Getting Started

Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Issues And Controversies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.

Library Resources vs. Google

When should you use the library's resources? When should you use Google? This video from Northeastern Illinois University outlines how to navigate between search engines & library tools.

ILLiad: Get Articles, Books or A/V from Another Library

ILLiad
Our interlibrary loan (ILL) system. Provide us with the information about the item you want and we will try to get it for you from another library.

Citation Management Tool

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research. RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your bibliography/references (whether annotated or not) and final paper in the correct style.

You can use RefWorks to:

Organize references
Format bibliographies
Create a database of your own citations
Import references directly from library databases
Insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies using the Write-n-Cite tool
Share your citations with a group

RefWorks
If you do not have a current RefWorks account, start here and sign up for a new account using your Fitchburg State email address. RefWorks will work anywhere using your login information. Off campus and on campus.

Video Tutorials
Check out the YouTube playlist we put together for short how-to videos on RefWorks.