Research Help: MGMT 9032: Advanced Financial Accounting Issues: Financial Research

Overview

This guide provides links to Fitchburg State University library resources related to Business and Finance courses. Find articles for research papers, browse business news outlets, familiarize yourself with the pertinent government agencies and organizations, and find introductions to APA citation style.

Financial Accounting Agencies and Organizations

Business Databases

Below is a selected list of business databases by topic area that the Library subscribes to. For freely accessible web resources please visit the subject tabs on the menu.

Business Cases

Sage Business Cases Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases is our robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs - providing faculty, students, and researchers with unlimited access to more than 5,500 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.

General Business Databases

The databases listed below are extensive. They include scholarly, trade and news articles, SWOT analysis, industry reports, country reports and more. If looking for articles and information on a business topic, these databases will be useful.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
ABI/Inform This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals for Accounting.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for regional business publications.

Industry Databases

Industry reports

typically provides an overview of an industry, market or sector in a particular geographic area
usually includes definitions, key trends & outlook, leading companies, competitive landscape, industry data (size, value, sales, ratios), key economic indicators and other related topics
often written by analysts or experts in the field

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Expert industry market research to help you make better business decisions, faster. Industry market research reports, statistics, analysis, data, and trends.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Contains industry reports with market analysis on more than 1000 top industry segments. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market and competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. Many reports also include a global industry analysis.

Statistical Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. The platform consists over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Apart from statistics, Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
The standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Company Financial Information

Mergent Market Atlas (Formerly Mergent Online) This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides information on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers and directors. It also includes equity reports for publicly traded companies.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

News and Topical Information

The following provide links to Fitchburg State online subscriptions to business news outlets that offer current company- and sector-specific news and information.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Company profiles, compare companies, financial and legal filings, and business news.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center. Offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Available through US Newsstream

The Financial Times
Links to the various databases that carry the full-text of the Financial Times (London).

MGMT 9032: Advanced Financial Accounting Issues

Strategic Projects Librarian

Citation Styles

Overview

Financial Accounting Agencies and Organizations

Business Databases

News and Topical Information

Bloomberg Newsfeed