Research Help: FYE 1023: FYE Seminar: Nursing (Devine): Library Resources

About this Guide

This course guide is a curated list of nursing sources which includes library subscribed resources like databases, ebooks, journals as well as freely available web resources.

The Library website contains access to all of the library's resources (not just nursing) and information about library services and spaces. If unable to find information or sources on this guide, please visit the library website or contact Connie Strittmatter - cstrittm@fitchburgstate.edu for assistance.

Books about Nursing

Becoming a Nurse by Sonny Kleinfield
Call Number: ebook - 1 user
ISBN: 9781982142414
Publication Date: 2020
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by Dorrie Fontaine, Tim Cunningham and Natalie May
Call Number: ebook - unlimited users
ISBN: 9781948057813
Publication Date: 2021
Toward a Better World by Mark Lazenby
Call Number: ebook - 1 user
ISBN: 9780190695712
Publication Date: 2020
Nursing Ethics: Feminist Perspectives by Helen Kohlen and Joan McCarthy
Call Number: ebook - 1 user
ISBN: 9783030491031
Publication Date: 2020
Anthropology for Nursing and Healthcare by Karen Holland
Call Number: ebook - 1 user
ISBN: 9781138912793
Publication Date: 2019
Public/Community Health and Nursing Practice by Christine L. Savage
Call Number: ebook - 1 user
ISBN: 9780803677111
Publication Date: 2019

Databases

Use these nursing databases to locate scholarly articles and trade publications related to nursing.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
Collection of health care data for providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating in medical professions.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Includes reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.

Additional Nursing Databases

Newspaper Databases

Boston Globe This link opens in a new window
Available 1980-Present
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Available through US Newsstream
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Fitchburg State University - Provides on campus and off campus access to the NYTimes.com subscription for FSU students, faculty and staff.

This resource requires creating an individual account using your Fitchburg State email address and creation of a password. First time users, register here or via the database link above. After creating your account, go directly to nytimes.com to access the New York Times Digital and you should be all set.

See additional information on the New York Times guide, as well as New York Times Terms of Service and Privacy agreements.

Please see our LibGuide for step-by-step instructions and information about using the New York Times Digital Edition.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.