Library Resources - CJ 4100 - Colloquium (Weiss) - Research Help at Fitchburg State University

About this Guide

The CJ 4100 course guide is a curated list resources which includes library subscribed resources like databases and journals as well as freely available web resources.

The Library website contains access to all of the library's resources (not just business) and information about library services and spaces. If unable to find information or sources on this guide, please visit the library website.

Reference Sources

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Issues And Controversies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Addressing current event topics, this database provides topic overviews, pro/con essays, primary source documents, overviews of court cases, statistics, access to newspaper and magazine articles, reference works, podcasts and multimedia tools to help you research social issues.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.

Locating Articles

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to full text, abstracting and indexing of over 270 core journals covering research areas in international criminal justice and criminology such as criminal law, corrections, policing & investigation and forensic science.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
GPO Access/FedSys This link opens in a new window
U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) This link opens in a new window
Website of the U.S. Department of Justice's National Criminal Justice Reference Service, an information clearinghouse for people around the U.S. and the world involved with research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice, and drug control.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.

Statistical Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista consists over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Apart from statistics, Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.