Research Help: CHEM 4750: Chemistry Seminar: Where to Search

Google Scholar

Linking to FSU Resources through Google Scholar

Searching Google Scholar

Research Databases

Click here to access all of the chemistry related database. Below are a selection of the most commonly used:

Core Databases:

SciFinderⁿ (Registration Required) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, OR use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. Registration is required.

SciFinder Help - how to register for an account (required to use), as well as tutorials

Science Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Science Full Text Select is a full-text database covering array of scientific subjects. It combines content from Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, General Science Full Text and other renowned resources.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains full text for hundreds of leading scholarly journals covering a wide-array of scientific and technological subject areas. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 publications.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Peer review and professional publications in a mix of engineering and computer science fields such as aerospace, agricultural engineering. chemical engineering, mechanical engineering, pharmacology, robotics, and
software development
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. Researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.

Below are a list of potentially useful databases from related disciplines:

Biological Abstracts/BIOSIS This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database provides users with easy access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline. Fitchburg State Coverage is 1955 to the present and most of the records include informative abstracts written by the author. It is produced by Thomson Scientific.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a leading full-text database for environmental studies. It provides hundreds of top environment journals and monographs covering agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, public policy, sustainability and other related subjects. It also includes millions of records and an environmental thesaurus.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database, established by the American Geosciences Institute in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 4.2 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.

Chemistry Journals

Check out the Library's collection of full text chemistry-related scholarly journals. The vast majority of titles are available online. Journals are grouped by subdiscipline:

Use the Journal Finder to search for more journals in the Library's collection.

Can't Get an Article? Use ILL

Sometimes a database or Google Scholar search leads us to the perfect article, only to find out that it is not available through the Library. Don't give up!

Try Interlibrary Loan (ILL)! ILL is a system that allows you to get items, such as articles and books, from other libraries through the FSU Library.

Click the link below to access the ILL system:

ILLiad
Provide us with the information about the item you want and we will try to get it for you from another library.
ILL Video Tutorial
Quick video on how to request an article through ILL

CHEM 4750: Chemistry Seminar

Your Librarian

Brainstorming Chemistry Topics

Google Scholar

Research Databases

Chemistry Journals

Can't Get an Article? Use ILL