As a Fitchburg State faculty or student member you are issued a unique Falcon Key username and password from the Technology Department when you enroll in a course/program. Whenever you are prompted to login to the library's databases and subscription resources from off campus, use your Falcon Key to login just as you do for Blackboard.
Don't know your Falcon Key?
Students and faculty can obtain their Falcon Key account information from the Technology Help Desk; you will need to provide them with your Banner ID number.
Hint for Students Your Falcon Key usually follows this format:
If your login doesn't work for the Library's databases, contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org to get access to our temporary guest account while the Technolgy Help Desk staff work on your Falcon Key account.
You can access databases from the Library's website by mousing-over Research (in the top white bar) and then clicking on Databases or Research Guides. When you are off-campus and you click on the link for a database, e-journal, etc., from the library's website you will be prompted to enter your Falcon Key login information. Once you enter it you should be taken directly into that resource and can begin using it. You will only be prompted to login once for each online session.
Need help selecting a database? Research Guides provide you a list of top resources for that subject and other information to help you get started or contact the librarians for research and reference assistance. You can use the drop down lists below to select a specific database or Research Guide.
This service is useful when you have a citation for an article that you want to track down, know a specific journal that you want to use or just want to browse by subject for journals (both print and electronic) that the Gallucci-Cirio Library subscribes to. It lets you type in the name of a journal that you are looking for.
You can access the journal locator search tool using the link below or via the Research section of our library website.
Use the Library's discovery tool, Resource Search, on our home page to simultaneously search the Traditional Catalog, all of the databases, e-books and e-journals.
Use the Library's Traditional Catalog directly via the search box below or from the Research section of the library's website to locate books, CDs, and etc. that are available in the Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library. Searching is available from on and off campus with no login required unless you want to access your library catalog account or you click on an e-Book or e-Journal.
In the Gallucci-Cirio Library:
Use our ILLiad document delivery service to have items from our print collections as well as those we get for you from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan service sent to you. Physical items such as books will be sent to your home via postal mail while items such as articles will be sent electronically directly into your ILLiad account as PDFs you can download. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items.
Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).
Note: Delivery of physical items to your home is only available to faculty teaching through extended campus or distance learning courses and students currently enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.
The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.
Length of the borrowing time for physical items:
Your One Card is your official university ID. It is optional for the distance learning and extended campus communities.
If you only plan to access the Gallucci-Cirio Library's services and resources online, you just need to know your Fitchburg State Banner ID number. Your Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero is your library barcode.
If you come on campus, you will need your One Card to check out library materials, use the photocopiers, and print from computers and microfiche machines. You also need your One Card if you intend to go to any of the ARC or WILL libraries and borrow materials from them. The student number printed on your One Card serves as your Library Instituion ID number.