Skip to main content

Nursing: Using Your Library

ILLiad

ILLiad: Borrow Materials From Other libraries As Well As From The Gallucci-Cirio Library's Print Collections

Don't restrict yourself to the first full text items you find online. Books, journals and other materials not available in the Gallucci-Cirio Library's databases or print and online collections can be requested from other libraries through our ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service. This service is available free to Fitchburg State students and faculty including those in an extended campus or distance learning course/program.

Please keep in mind that an Interlibrary Loan request for a physical item such as a book takes an average of 1 to 2 weeks and the average time for an electronic article/document takes 1 business day from the time you submit the request until you receive the item, but it may take longer. To request an item through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan, click on the ILLiad link in the box above or from anywhere within the Library's website (Under the "My Library Accounts" link in the top bar) or by clicking on the "Find Copy" link from within the databases (note: name of link varies depending on the database).

Use our ILLiad document delivery service to have items from our print collections as well as those we get for you from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan service sent to you. Physical items such as books will be sent to your home* via postal mail while items such as articles will be sent electronically directly into your ILLiad account as PDFs you can download. On-campus faculty also have the option of having the physical items delivered to their campus office. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items.

Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).

*Note: The home delivery component of this service is only available to faculty teaching through extended campus or distance learning courses and students currently enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.

The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.

Length of the borrowing time for physical items:

  • Circulating items for Fitchburg State-owned items:
    • Student borrowing period for most items is 28 days, plus a 7-day grace period to allow for shipping time. The library assesses a $15 processing fee per item when an overdue item is converted to a lost status by the automated system; this is a flat fee charged regardless of whether the item is returned or not. Lost and damaged fees are the cost of the item; lost fees are waived upon return of the item.
    • Faculty borrowing period for most circulating items is 6 months
  • Circulating items from other libraries vary depending on the individual library and are the same for students and faculty; we have no control over this date. The due date will be specified on each individual item. We ask that you please return Interlibrary Loan items by the due date specified or if you need it longer, place a renewal request via your ILLiad account before it is due. Failure to return other libraries' items on time may result in their refusal to lend us items in the future.

Once you've clicked on the ILLiad link...

  1. If you already have an account, enter your Username and Password. Otherwise, click on the "First Time User? Create Your Account" link and fill out the New User Registration form.
    • We recommend that you use your Falcon Key as your username and password and your Fitchburg State email.
    • Under "Preferred Loan Delivery Method (physical items)" select the "Mail to Address" to have items delivered to your home instead of picking it up at the Circulation Desk. Note: Delivery to your home is restricted to students enrolled in and faculty teaching in Distance Learning or at Extended Campus courses.
    • Under the section for "Location of your current courses (Staff choose Main Campus)" choose the Distance Learning course or at an Extended Campus location.
       
  2. Your ILLiad account's Main Menu page will display. From here you can use the left-hand menu to go to:
    • New Request - Select the Article, Book or A/V, or Book Chapter request form; fill it out to request an item. When you hit the Submit Request button the system will automatically fill in all of your information which you entered through the New User Registration form.
    • View - Track your outstanding requests, access electronically received articles, et cetera.
    • Tools - Here you can update your account information at any time and change your password.

ILLiad Request forms will pull citation information directly from the Library's databases and automatically populate the form for you!

When you are in one of the Library's databases with items in your results list which aren't full text, simply click on the "Get Article" link, "Find a Copy" link, et cetera that you see. This will take you into our Journal Locator service which will quickly tell you whether that item is available through one of the other databases or in our library. If it states we don't have the item, scroll down and click on the "Request Books and Articles from Another Library" link. This connects you directly to the ILLiad logon page. Logon to ILLiad and the system automatically opens the request form and pulls all of the item's citation information into the form for you. All you need to do is make sure everything filled in, you can add in a note if you want, then click on the Submit Request button to send your request to the Interlibrary Loan staff who will borrow that item from another library for you.

Renew Items Checked Out on Your Library Catalog Account

There are four ways that you can renew items that you have borrowed from the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

  • Online renewal - connect to the library Catalog and access your account directly by clicking on "My Account". Select Barcode or Institution ID and type the corresponding number in the box, type in your last name, and click on "Login". The system will tell you the new due date.
  • At the Circulation Desk - stop by the Circulation Desk and renew your items whether you have them with you or not.
  • Via phone - call the Circulation Desk during our hours of operation at 978-665-3063 and renew them over the phone.
  • Via email - email your renewal request to circulation@fitchburgstate.edu. Please be sure to include your name and library barcode/institution ID number.

Please note:

  • Overdue items can not be renewed online if your account is expired or you owe lost fees.
  • The Circulation staff reserves the right to require the early return of a renewed item or deny a renewal if it is needed by another Fitchburg State student or faculty member.

Interactive Tutorials and Demos