Research Help: Long Descriptions of images in guides: Background Information

Background Information

Before you can start any research on your topic, you must have a background knowledge about your topic. Books, reference sources, and websites can provide you with that knowledge.

This is important because:

Background sources give you the language that people are using to discuss your topic. You will use this language when you start to search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
This "pre-research" gives you a sense if your topic is focused enough. If your initial searches bring back so many results you can't even figure out what the language people are using to discuss your topic, then you should consider narrowing your topic.

Remember, background information is always a starting point for research, not an ending point.

Wikipedia Yes, it is OK to use Wikipedia for background information, but never cite to it. And only use it as a starting point.

Library resources to use to find background information:

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
Issues And Controversies This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

Identify Keywords

Before you can begin searching for information, you need to identify keywords related to your topic. Key terminology can be easily be found by scanning:

Your research questions
Articles found from background research
Bibliographies found at the end of books and articles

If you are still struggling:

Use a thesaurus to identify synonyms.
Find pictures related to your topic, then describe them.
Brainstorm keywords with a librarian, your instructor, or a friend.
Use a keyword generator.

Keyword Worksheet
Make a list or use the chart below to track keywords related to your topic.

Keep it by your side when you start your research.