Research Help: Researching Local Area Issues: Fitchburg State University

About Fitchburg State University

Fitchburg State University, located in Fitchburg, Massachusetts, is a public institution dedicated to integrating high-quality professional programs with strong liberal arts and sciences studies. Founded in 1894, the university now has more than 30 undergraduate programs and 22 master's degree programs, and 7,000 full and part-time students.

History of Fitchburg State University
Start to learn more about FSU on the university's history page.

University Archivist

If you are interested in accessing the university archives or special collections, contact our university archivist, Asher Jackson.

ajacks19@fitchburgstate.edu
(978) 665-4869
HA-201A

Previous PSA Topics

Safety on Campus
Crime on Campus (2011) Are colleges doing enough to keep students safe? By Peter Katel | CQ Researcher
Food Insecurity
Hunger in America (2017) Should the government spend more on food aid? By Tom Price | CQ Researcher
Parking
This link brings you directly to a search in the database Academic Search Ultimate for all articles tagged with the subject "Campus Parking".
Gender Neutral Bathrooms
Transgender Rights (2015) Can a long-scorned minority achieve equality? By Alan Greenblatt | CQ Researcher
International Students
This article from University World News highlights findings from a recent study (which is linked out to). Consider narrowing your topic down to an issue or a challenge facing international students.
Recycling
Results from a search in Academic Search Ultimate for articles tagged as Recycling, waste management and campus programs.
Sustainability
Sustainability topic page from Opposing Viewpoints in Context. Use as a jumping off point for deciding where to focus for a smaller community like FSU.
Composting
Search results for "composting on campus" in the Academic Search Ultimate database.
Main Street
Search results for "urban revitalization" or "urban renewal" and downtown in Academic Search Ultimate. Connect what Fitchburg is attempting to research on similar projects in America.

Videos

The Shocking Truth About Food Insecurity
TedTalk | Clancy Cash Harrison
20% of kids are plagued by food insecurity - they lack reliable access to nourishing food.
As a nutritionist Clancy’s mistake was assuming people had access to the quality food they needed. This resulted in their inability to provide healthy meals even after she taught them how.
Sustainabile Living TedTalk Playlist
A series of TedTalk videos on sustainable living.

The Point | Fitchburg State's Student Newspaper

The Point | Fitchburg State University's Student Newspaper

Resources

America Fact Finder - Education
Statistics about educational attainment per age, demographic and socioeconomic status.
Archives & Special Collections: About
Association of American Colleges & Universities
Department of Education - Data & Statistics
Sets policies on federal financial aid for education, and distributing as well as monitoring those funds. Collects data on America's schools and disseminating research. Focuses national attention on key educational issues. Prohibits discrimination and ensuring equal access to education.
Department of Education - STEM
Fitchburg State University Digital Archives
The Institute for College Access & Success
An independent, nonprofit organization, the Institute for College Access & Success (TICAS) works to make higher education more available and affordable for people of all backgrounds. By conducting and supporting nonpartisan research, analysis, and advocacy.students and for society.
Massachusetts Higher Education - STEM
University Archives & Special Collections Finding Aids: University Records
University Records

Current Issues in Higher Education

Retention and Completion
Vocational Education vs Liberal Arts
Student Loan Debt
Higher Education Affordability
College preparedness
STEM initiatives
Online Degrees
Sexual Harrassment & Rape
Title IX
LGBTQ
Free Speech

Researching Local Area Issues: Fitchburg State University