Don't restrict yourself to the first full text items you find online. Books, journals and other materials not available in the Gallucci-Cirio Library's databases or print and online collections can be requested from other libraries through our ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service. This service is available free to Fitchburg State students and faculty including those in an extended campus or distance learning course/program.
Please keep in mind that an Interlibrary Loan request for a physical item such as a book takes an average of 1 to 2 weeks and the average time for an electronic article/document takes 1 business day from the time you submit the request until you receive the item, but it may take longer. To request an item through ILLiad Interlibrary Loan, click on the ILLiad link in the box above or from anywhere within the Library's website (Under the "My Library Accounts" link in the top bar) or by clicking on the "Find Copy" link from within the databases (note: name of link varies depending on the database).
Use our ILLiad document delivery service to have items from our print collections as well as those we get for you from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan service sent to you. Physical items such as books will be sent to your home* via postal mail while items such as articles will be sent electronically directly into your ILLiad account as PDFs you can download. On-campus faculty also have the option of having the physical items delivered to their campus office. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items.
Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).
*Note: The home delivery component of this service is only available to faculty teaching through extended campus or distance learning courses and students currently enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.
The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.
Length of the borrowing time for physical items:
Once you've clicked on the ILLiad link...
ILLiad Request forms will pull citation information directly from the Library's databases and automatically populate the form for you!
When you are in one of the Library's databases with items in your results list which aren't full text, simply click on the "Get Article" link, "Find a Copy" link, et cetera that you see. This will take you into our Journal Locator service which will quickly tell you whether that item is available through one of the other databases or in our library. If it states we don't have the item, scroll down and click on the "Request Books and Articles from Another Library" link. This connects you directly to the ILLiad logon page. Logon to ILLiad and the system automatically opens the request form and pulls all of the item's citation information into the form for you. All you need to do is make sure everything filled in, you can add in a note if you want, then click on the Submit Request button to send your request to the Interlibrary Loan staff who will borrow that item from another library for you.
Renew Items Checked Out on Your Library Catalog Account
There are four ways that you can renew items that you have borrowed from the Gallucci-Cirio Library: