Skip to main content

NURS 2900: Medical Surgical Nursing I (Arsenault): Search in the CINAHL Plus with Full Text Database

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Find a Cultural Article

In searching for articles treating cultural aspects of nursing, you can always search by country or nationality (i.e. Japan or Japanese). Try these terms as search terms:

Cultural competence
Cultural diversity
Cultural sensitivity
Cultural values
Culture
Transcultural nursing

Use 'transcultural care' for cross-cultural care.

Use 'ethnological research' for cross-cultural comparison, or cross-cultural research or cross-cultural studies.

To narrow the focus of your search, select 'MW Word in subject heading' or 'MH Exact search heading' instead of the default 'Select a field' in CINAHL plus with Full-Text by using the Advanced Search page.

CINAHL Search Limiters Can Help Refine Your Results

Limiters:

Date Range – Use this when you want the database to exclude any articles that are too old to use in your research. For this assignment you can only use materials from the last 5 years so retrict your dates to 2008-2013.

Journal Subset – For this assignment you want to set this limit to "nursing" which will limit your results to articles from "nursing" journals. There is also an option to limit it even further to a subset of "core nursing" journals.

English Language – Check this box to restrict your results to articles published in English.

Publication Type – For this assignment select "Journal Article".

Any Author is Nurse – always check this limit if your professor requires you to only use articles and resources where at least one of the authors is a nurse.

First Author is Nurse – always check this limit if your professor requires you to only use articles and resources where the first or primary author is a nurse.

 

Special Search Function: Truncation

The truncation symbol is usually an asterisk "*". When you have a search term such as teenager you can type in the root of the word followed by the truncation symbol and the database will look for all forms of the word and retrieve the articles. So if you typed in teen* the database would look for teen, teens, teenager and teenagers. It is also great for when you want to get the singular and plural forms of a word. An important thing to keep in mind when using truncation is where you truncate the word and what type of database are you in. For example if you are in an Education database and you type bull*, you will get articles on bullying. However the same truncated search term in a general reference database will get articles on bullying, cows, rodeo, bullets, etc.