ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is a subject specific database that provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.
As you search in ERIC you will discover that it provides full text and bibliographic information for a wide range of materials from peer-reviewed articles to books to conference proceedings and more. The database distinguishes articles from other formats by assigning an ERIC number to each item (in paranthese) which is placed at the end of its citation information in your results list. The number always starts with an EJ to indicate that its an ERIC journal article or ED to indicate that it is an ERIC document. Documents are any format except journal articles. Many of the documents are available online in ERIC, but if the database indicates that it is only available on microfiche the library has the microfiche collection available in the Periodicals Collection, 2nd floor.
Most of our databases, including ERIC, provide limit options that you can use to help narrow your search. Most databases have at least these two limits:
ERIC and many of our other databases provide additional limits you may want to use such as:
Limits unique to ERIC:
ERIC and many of our databases also offer special searching functions which can be really helpful. When you are in a new database click on Help to see what is available. A couple of the functions to look for are: