Skip to main content

HIST 7450: Historiography (Reeves): Researching History

Research Guide for Rene Reeves' HIST 7450 - Historiography

Books in the Library

The following books from your syllabus are on reserve in the library. You may check them out at the Circulation Desk for in-library use.

The Last Colonial Massacre: Latin America in the Cold War, Greg Grandin

Revolution in the Countryside: Rural Conflict and Agrarian Reform in Guatemala, 1944-1954, Jim Handy  

Secret History: The CIA's Classified Account of its Operations in Guatemala, 1952-1954, Nick Cullather

Shattered Hope: The Guatemalan Revolution and the United States, 1944-1954, Piero Gleijeses

Citing Your Sources

Your professor has specified that your sources should be cited in the Turabian style. Here's a handy guide to help you with this:

Chicago/Turabian

RefWorks

Create an account for free, and RefWorks will format your citations in MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and many other formats.

RefWorks

Finding an Article with a Citation

Very often you will have a citation in hand - either from your professor, or from the bibliography of a book or another article. The easiest way to find the article in question is to use the library's Journal Locator.

Journal Locator

When you enter the name of the journal in which the article appeared, Journal Locator will search all of the library's databases as well as the print collection (located on the 2nd floor), and link you to the content for which you are searching, if it is available.

Find Articles

These databases are a good place to start to find articles, essays, and primary sources on history, political science, and foreign policy:

America History & Life - Complete bibliographic reference of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.

JSTOR - Provides full runs of various journals and periodicals. One of the best places to start for articles that date before the 1990s.

Historical Abstracts - Bibliographic database for historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present.

New York Times - Historical - Search the full-text of the New York Times from 1851-2004.

 

Some other multidisciplinary databases that might be helpful:

Academic OneFile - Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.

Academic Search Complete - This is a multidisciplinary database that covers many fields, including the humanities.

Useful Websites

We used these websites in class to search for primary documents related to the U.S. involvement in Guatemala from 1944-1954, but they are excellent starting points for many topics related to U.S. foreign policy.