Skip to main content

Distance Learning and Extended Campus Library Services: How Do I Borrow Materials from the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Print Collections?

See how to access the library's online resources from off campus, borrow materials from our print collections and borrow materials from other libraries when you are teaching or enrolled in one of our distance learning or extended campus courses.

Borrow Materials from the Gallucci-Cirio Library's Print Collections?

As a student or faculty member in a distance learning or extended campus course/program you have full access to the circulating collections in the Gallucci-Cirio Library and to most of our non-circulating collections from home via the Library's website. Use our discovery Resource Search box on our homepage to search for items across all of our print and online resources simultaneously. You can than use a variety of limiters to help narrow down your results. This is great when you are looking for a variety of resource types such as books, articles and media on your topic.

You can still go directly to a resource such as a specific research database or the Library Catalog by going to the Research section.

  • The Traditional Library Catalog link will find materials in our circulating book, audio CD, DVD and VHS collections.
  • The Databases link lets you select a specific database from the alphabetical list of all our databases or by by subject.
  • The Journals link takes you to our Journal Locator tool where you can search by journal name.
  • The Research Guides take you to General Subject guides, Course Guides and Topic Guides which provide links to our library resources, links to web resources, librarian subject specialists, research tips, citation help and more geared towards that specific subject, course or topic.

Note: You must be logged in as an Off-Campus user to access the online subscription databases, journals, music, etc.

When you find an item you want to use and it is accessible online you have direct access to save, print, download, listen, etc. to the item (options vary depending on the type of material and the database).

When you find an item you want to use that is physically in our library and not available online, logon to the ILLiad system to place your requests. The Library will mail the items to the address specified on your ILLiad account; there is no charge for mailing items to you. You will only be responsible for the cost of shipping books, CDs, and other circulating items back to the Gallucci-Cirio Library. Electronic copies will be delivered to your ILLiad account. You are also welcome to come to the library and check out and/or return materials through the Circulation Desk; you will need your One Card if you come to the library. 

Within the library you have access to several online accounts via the Library website (Top gray bar: My Library Accounts link): the Catalog, ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery) and RefWorks (Citation Management software).

Your Catalog account is usually created/updated automatically from the campus' Banner system. When you are in the Catalog, click on My Account and log in. You need to know your 8-digit Fitchburg State Banner number which starts @01... Your library Barcode is your Banner number with the @ symbol changed to a zero; your Institution ID is your Banner number without the leading @0. Here you can view your personal information, edit your searching preferences, see what Fitchburg State library items you have checked out as well as when they are due and renew them online. If you have trouble accessing your account, please let us know.

Your ILLiad account is optional and needs to be activated and updated manually by clicking on any of the ILLiad Interlibrary Loans link under the My Library Accounts on our website or the ILLiad links located throughout our resources. If this is your first time using our ILLiad system, click on the "First time User? Create your account" link and complete the New User Registration form. If you are in an Extended Campus program and have not received your Banner ID number yet, you can still activate your ILLiad account by using the last 4 digits of your social security number where the form asks for your Banner number and entering your instructor/course information in the Notes box. You can later update your account information once you receive your Banner number.

Your RefWorks account is optional and needs to be activated and updated manually by clicking on any of the the RefWorks links located throughout our web site. If this is your first time using our RefWorks system, click on the "Sign Up for a New Account" link and complete the New User Registration form. Off-Campus users, must enter the group code: RWFSC

  • Note: You must have popups enabled for RefWorks to work properly.

Your OneCard is your official university ID and also serves as your library card. It is optional for the distance learning and extended campus communities.

If you come on campus, you need your OneCard to check out library materials, use the photocopiers, and print from computers and microfiche machines. You also need your OneCard if you intend to go to any of the ARC or WILL libraries to borrow materials from them. The student number printed on the front of your OneCard serves is your Banner number.

If you only plan to access the Gallucci-Cirio Library's services online, you just need to know your Fitchburg State Banner ID number. Your Banner number with the "@" symbol changed to a zero is your library barcode.

Use our ILLiad document delivery service to have items from our print collections as well as those you we get for you from other libraries through the Interlibrary Loan service sent to you. Physical items such as books will be sent to your home via postal mail while items such as articles will be sent electronically directly into your ILLiad account as PDFs you can download. In mailing items we will incur the cost of shipping the item(s) to you; you will be responsible for the cost of shipping library items back to us and for any damaged/lost items.

Gallucci-Cirio Library-owned items and Interlibrary Loan items can be returned in person or mailed to the Gallucci-Cirio Library using the enclosed return mailing label. Any library items mailed back must be shipped in appropriate packing such as a jiffy bag to prevent the item from being damaged (ask at your local post office if you are not sure).

This service is only available to faculty teaching through extended campus or distance learning courses and students currently enrolled through a Fitchburg State extended campus or distance learning course/program.

The length of the delivery time will vary depending on the material requested and the mode of delivery available. Our goal is to ensure that you receive materials as quickly as possible.

Length of the borrowing time for physical items:

  • Circulating items for Fitchburg State-owned items:
    • Student borrowing period for most items is 28 days, plus a 7-day grace period to allow for shipping time. The library assesses a $15 processing fee per item when an overdue item is converted to a lost status by the automated system; this is a flat fee charged regardless of whether the item is returned or not. Lost and damaged fees are the cost of the item; lost fees are waived upon return of the item.
    • Faculty borrowing period for most circulating items is 6 months
  • Circulating items from other libraries vary depending on the individual library and are the same for students and faculty; we have no control over this date. The due date will be specified on each individual item. We ask that you please return Interlibrary Loan items by the due date specified or if you need it longer, place a renewal request via your ILLiad account before it is due. Failure to return other libraries' items on time may result in their refusal to lend us items in the future.

Renew Items Checked Out on Your Library Catalog Account

There are four ways that you can renew items that you have borrowed from the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

  • Online renewal - connect to the library Catalog and access your account directly by clicking on "My Account". Select Barcode or Institution ID and type the corresponding number in the box, type in your last name, and click on "Login". The system will tell you the new due date.
  • At the Circulation Desk - stop by the Circulation Desk and renew your items whether you have them with you or not.
  • Via phone - call the Circulation Desk during our hours of operation at 978-665-3063 and renew them over the phone.
  • Via email - email your renewal request to circulation@fitchburgstate.edu. Please be sure to include your name and library barcode/institution ID number.

Please note:

  • Overdue items can not be renewed online if your account is expired or you owe lost fees.
  • The Circulation staff reserves the right to require the early return of a renewed item or deny a renewal if it is needed by another Fitchburg State student or faculty member.