Research Help: History Research Guide: Women's History

Getting Started

Get started with your research:

Pick a topic by reviewing your assignment and textbooks

Narrow your topic down using:

Mind Map Your Topic
Create a map of your topic with narrower and related aspects to help you get to the information you are interested in for research. This interactive tutorial will allow you to print your map, create a research question and give you search terms.

Learn more about your topic by doing Pre-search

Ask for help from the librarians!

Women of MA

Salem Witch Trials Documentary Archive
This wonderful collection of electronic documents includes some very rare pieces like full transcripts from the trials and detailed information about the people involved.
What About the Witches?
Salem's official webapge about their witchy history. Includes a fantastic bibliography of sources for those who want more.

Available @FSU

We have a number of items that can help you with your research or provide you with a project:

Our collection of theses from students who have recieved their masters degrees from Fitchburg State are available for you to review. You can contact the library for information on getting access to them.
We maintain the Fitchburg State University Archives. If you are looking to do research on the history of this school, women's colleges, public colleges in Massachsuetts then we have some items that may help you. If you are looking for a project, digitizing our archives is something you can consider doing. Contact the library inorder to get access to the archives or to discuss a digitization project.

Helpful Links

American Women's History: Digital Collections of Primary Sources
A pretty current collection of digital archives related to women's history in America.
The Cult of Domesticity and True Womanhood
Looks at women in the 19th century and the role they played in society.
Feminism and Women's Studies
An overview and collection of resrouces.
Guerilla Girls
This group of women speak out about the low representation of women artists in art museum. See the videos for more information about them.
Historical Women
A list of important, historical women.
Liberty Rhetoric and 19th Century American Women
A little old, but still a great site with information about Lowell Mill Girls.
National Women's History Project
The NWHP is the only clearinghouse providing information and training in multicultural women’s history for educators, community organizations, and parents-for anyone wanting to expand their understanding of women contributions to U. S. history.
New Pathways Into Quilt History
Another collection about quilting.
Patches from the Past
A history of quilting and rugs.
Ohio Women
Readings about some of Ohio's famous women
Women Working
This collection from Harvard focuses on women working. The collection features about 500,000 digitized pages and images.
Scribbling Women
From the website: Scribbling Women, a project of The Public Media Foundation, dramatizes stories by American women writers for national radio broadcast.
Thin Blue Line
A website about the history of the pregnancy test.
Votes for Women
An archive of the suffrage movement from 1850 -1920.
Women's Studies Links
This website may look simple, but it's got some great links and is kept up to date.
A Woman's Work is Never Done
A collection from the American Antiquarian Society about the work done by women.
The Working Classes in Revolutionary France: Women's Occupation
This collection focuses on women in France during the French Revolution.
Women's Studies Resources
Another collection of resources about Women's Studies. Also, kept up to date.

Subject Guide

Renée Fratantonio

she/her

Contact:

rfratant@fitchburgstate.edu

978-665-4219

Citation Management Tool

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research. RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your bibliography/references (whether annotated or not) and final paper in the correct style.

You can use RefWorks to:

Organize references
Format bibliographies
Create a database of your own citations
Import references directly from library databases
Insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies using the Write-n-Cite tool
Share your citations with a group

RefWorks
If you do not have a current RefWorks account, start here and sign up for a new account using your Fitchburg State email address. RefWorks will work anywhere using your login information. Off campus and on campus.

Video Tutorials
Check out the YouTube playlist we put together for short how-to videos on RefWorks.

Chicago/Turabian Style Guides

Chicago/Turabian Style is primarily used for history, but can also be used in other subjects. The Chicago style and the Turabian style are quite similar and often used interchangeably, but they are not identical. Ask your professor or check your syllabus to be sure you're using the right style.

Citing in Chicago/Turabian: A Printable Guide
This short handout reviews Chicago/Turabian style for some of the most commonly cited types of sources.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Eighth Edition by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: Ref. LB2369.T8 2013
ISBN: 9780226816388
Publication Date: 2013
Reference (1st floor, non-circulating)

History Research Guide: Women's History