Skip to main content

Counseling Research Guide

This Guide is intended to support research in the two graduate programs of study: Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling.

eBook Collection

The library has a growing collection of eBooks. You can search for them by using our Resource Search box on the library's home page. Simply type in a search term or book. Once the results list loads, a left-hand column with options to refine your search will appear. Under the Content Type section click on Book/eBook. To see only the eBooks, scroll down to the Library Location section and click on Online. Here are a couple of eBooks you might find helpful: 

Print Book Collections in the Library

The library provides several print book collections consisting of reference, general, over-sized, special collections and Nook (popular/fun reading). Of particular relevance for Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling are these two:

Reference Collection, located on the first floor, contains discipline specific reference materials such as specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, bibliographies, etc.

General Book Collection, located on the third and fourth floors, contains discipline related books ranging from the general academic content level to the advanced graduate content level.

Books within any of these collections can be located via the Library Catalog or using our Resource Search box on the library's home page by typing in one of the subject words/phrases below, using their built in Subject filter:

  • Adolescent psychology
  • Adult child abuse victims
  • Bereavement-Psychological aspects
  • Child abuse
  • Child mental health services
  • Educational counseling
  • Family psychotherapy
  • Family violence
  • Grief
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Mental health counseling
  • Psychotherapy
  • Social interactions
  • Vocational guidance

You can also go to the shelves and browse the collection in the call number areas:

  • BF - General Psychology
  • HQ - Marriage, Family, Relationships
  • HV - Social pathology, Social & Public Welfare
  • RC - Neurosciences & Psychiatry

In the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

 

Reference Resources

Core Reference Databases:

Sampling of titles in our print Reference Collection, located on the first floor and eBook Collection:

On the Web