Research Help: Foreign Languages Research Guide: Japanese

Japanese Dictionaries & Resources

Let's Learn Hiragana by Yasuko Kosaka Mitamura
Call Number: PL528.M5 2011
ISBN: 9781568363899
Publication Date: 2012-03-01
Japanese Kanji for Beginners by Timothy G. Stout; Kaori Hakone
Call Number: PL539.5.E5S76 2016
ISBN: 9784805310496
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Essential Japanese Vocabulary by Akira Miura; Wesley Jacobsen (Foreword by)
Call Number: PL539.M48 2011
ISBN: 9784805311271
Publication Date: 2011-03-10
Shodo: The Quiet Art of Japanese Zen Calligraphy : Learn the Wisdom of Zen Through Traditional Brush Painting by Shozo Sato; Gengo Akiba Roshi (Contribution by); Shinya Fujiwara (Contribution by); Alice Ogura Sato (Translator)
Call Number: OSZ NK3633.5.S26 2013
ISBN: 9784805312049
Publication Date: 2014-03-11
Essential Kanji by P. G. O'Neill
Call Number: PL535.7.O53 2004
ISBN: 0834802228
The Oxford-Duden pictorial Japanese & English dictionary.
Call Number: Ref. PL676.O9 1989
Publication Date: 1989

Online Translators

These tools can translate entire blocks of text, but beware - they don't always produce proper grammar!

Database Tools

Some of the library databases come with built in tools to focus your search.

EBSCO Language Interface
Learn how to choose the language of your results in EBSCO's databases.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services

Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs.This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.

Detailed information...

Online Dictionaries and Additional Resources

Learning Co.: Learning and Teaching Japanese
Japanese study tips, a language blog, audio files, and more.

BBC Japanese
Bi-directional English-Japanese Dictionary
English-Japanese, Japanese-English dictionary
Japanesepod101.com
Podcasts to help you learn Japanese.
Omniglot - Japanese Language
Dictionary, fonts, translations, as well as other resources to newspapers, radio and information about Japan.
WordReference
Free online translation dictionary.
Your Dictionary
Portal site for online language dictionaries and grammars.
Zkanji
zkanji is a free and open-source study tool and dictionary of the Japanese language. It has several useful features for beginners up to advanced students. Dictionary, example sentences, kanji search and information with animated stroke order diagrams, vocabulary list printing, study functions and much more.
Flashcards for Learning Kanji
The Japanese Page
This site contains lessons for beginners, as well as, cultural and related information.

Japanese Newspapers & Magazines

47NEWS
One-stop search for news from 52 local newspapers and Associated Press. (Japanese only)
ABYZ News
AnAn
FRaU
Popeye