Research Help: Foreign Languages Research Guide: German

German Dictionaries & Resources

Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary by Peter Terrell (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. PF3640.C68 1993
ISBN: 9780062755117
Publication Date: 1993
Collins German Dictionary
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781849722681
Publication Date: 2008
Harrap's Concise German and English Dictionary by Harrap's Limited Staff
Call Number: Ref. PF3640.H29 1982b
ISBN: 0844228818
Publication Date: 1987

Online Translators

These tools can translate entire blocks of text, but beware - they don't always produce proper grammar!

Database Tools

Some of the library databases come with built in tools to focus your search.

EBSCO Language Interface
Learn how to choose the language of your results in EBSCO's databases.

LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services

Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs.This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.

Detailed information...

Online Dictionaries and Additional Resources

Thought Co.: Learning and Teaching German
German study tips, a language blog, audio files, and more.

BBC - German
dict.cc English German Dictionary
An online English-German dictionary to which every user can contribute by adding and verifying translations.
DuoLingo
Forvo Pronunciation Wiki
Pronounce a word in German with an online voice recorder to practice your own pronunciations.
German Studies Web
"The German Studies Web is designed to provide access to scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized here have undergone a selection and evaluation process. If needed, annotations have been provided augmenting the research value of these resources to scholars. It contains contributions from German Studies bibliographers nationwide. The coordinator for the German Studies Web is Reinhart Sonnenburg (Dartmouth College)."
Leo
The LEO dictionary now contains over 400,000 entries. Vocabulary, grammar and other tools available.
WordReference
Free online translation dictionary.

German Newspapers & Periodicals

Online Newspapers.com: German
A complete list of German newspapers online.
ABYZ News Links
Newspaper and new media links by region and country.
Der Spiegel
Find articles in Der Spiegel - from 1947- the present.
Stern