Skip to main content

Education Research Guide

This guide provides resources and information to help you get started with your research projects in the field of education. Need additional help? Please contact me!

Peer-reviewed, Scholarly Articles

Some databases provide an option to narrow your result list to articles from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals. When you select this option the database will filter out any books, articles published in popular or trade journals, audio and video files, etc. Two such databases in the field of Education are Academic Search Complete and Proquest Education Journals. Even when you know a journal is peer-reviewed, it does not mean that every article in that journal is of a "scholarly" level. Scholarly articles contain original research and are reviewed by a panel of experts before being published. However, book reviews or special feature sections, which are usually brief and offer opinions rather then original research and thus are not scholarly even though they may be published in a scholarly journal.

Your professor may also have specific criteria that you need to follow that is provided on your syllabus or during class.

See the links below for additional information on how to determine if an article is scholarly.

Finding Articles

A good place to begin searching for articles is within one or more of the library's databases listed under the Home section of this guide. Depending on your topic you may want to choose a general reference database which covers a broad range of topics or you may want to choose a subject specific database. If your topic crosses over into another subject area, there may be additional resources you might want to use (see the list of Research Guides). Once you begin finding articles that you want to use, refer to the References section at the end of each article for additional resources you might also want to find.