Skip to main content

Criminal Justice Research Guide: Books

Research resources for students in the Criminal Justice program - including statistical data, judicial information, case law, and Massachusetts-specific information.

Not on the shelf?

As much as we'd like to, we can't have everything on our shelves. But we work with other libraries to get the resources you need.

More Places to Look

While the Library has many books on a variety of criminal justice topics we don't have everything. The following databases can also help you find resources at other libraries:

Catalog

 

Find Forensic and Criminal Justice eBooks

The Library subscribes toFORENSICnetBASE/LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE, an ebook database of forensic science and criminal justice textbooks. 

Reference Resources of Note

Get started with some of these great encyclopedias:

  • Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice - Ref. HV6017.E52 2002
    • Covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic aspects of crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal issues, from domestic violence to terrorism. Entries cite pertinent legal cases as well as publications for further information.
  • Encyclopedia of the European Union
    • Provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotitations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration.
  • Encyclopedia of White-Collar & Corporate Crime - Ref. HV6768.E63 2005
    • Covers events from the 1863 passage of the False Claims Act to the indictments and trials of public figures in 2004.
  • Encyclopedia of World Terrorism - Ref. HV6431.E53 2003
    • Covers the attack on the World Trade Center, the War on Terrorism, and the escalating violence in Israel and the occupied territories in detail, offering historical context and contemporary analysis by terrorism and counter-terrorism experts.
  • West's Encyclopedia of American Law - Ref. KF154.W47 2005
    • Fully illuminates today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, important documents and more.