Check out these books related to the topic of diversity and change in the field of LIS:
Where Are All the Librarians of Color?
by
This book offers a comprehensive look at the experiences of people of color after the recruitment is over, the diversity box is checked, and the statistics are reported. What are the retention, job satisfaction, and tenure experiences of librarians of color? The authors look at the history of librarians of color in academia, review of the literature, obstacles, roles, leadership, and the tenure process for those that endure. What are the recruitment and retention methods employed to create a diverse workforce, successes and failures? Finally what are some mentoring strategies that work to make the library environment less exploitative and toxic for librarians of color?
This book is a collection of essays that centers around the theme of diversity in the LIS field. Separated into three sections, each covers a different aspect of diversity; the first covers ideas and initiatives to increase diversity within the field, while the second presents the reasons for diversifying the field, and the third section is personal stories from librarians of color. Focusing mainly on racial diversity within the field, many of the same concepts and ideas brought up in other resources are included, such as increasing retention and creating inclusive environments and mentorship programs, among others.
Particularly relevant to this guide are chapters two through six, which discuss recruitment, retention, and promotion of diverse and underrepresented professionals, although the entire book is worth reading, as it does cover the personal experiences of librarians (and faculty) of color in the LIS field.
Implementing Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
by
Academic library workers often make use of systemic, bureaucratic, political, collegial, and symbolic dimensions of organizational behavior to achieve their diversity, equity, and inclusion goals, but many are also doing the crucial work of pushing back at the structures surrounding them in ways small and large.
Implementing Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion captures emerging practices that academic libraries and librarians can use to create more equitable and representative institutions.
Chapters cover topics including active diversity recruitment strategies; inclusive hiring; gendered ageism; librarians with disabilities; diversity and inclusion with student workers; residencies and retention; creating and implementing a diversity strategic plan; cultural competency training; libraries' responses to Canadian Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action; and accountability and assessment. Authors provide practical guiding principles, effective practices, and sample programs and training.
Implementing Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion explores how academic libraries have leveraged and deployed their institutions' resources to effect DEI improvements while working toward implementing systemic solutions. It provides means and inspiration for continuing to try to hire, retain, and promote the change we want to see in the world regardless of existing structures and systems, and ways to improve those structures and systems for the future.
This book covers several different aspects of creating more diverse, equitable, and inclusive academic libraries. There are several case studies, as well as chapters that cover various topics related to the theme of diversity in libraries. I think that particularly useful to us will be sections I and II, which cover the employee life cycle and professional development, respectively, although the entire book is a good resource for information relating to DEI initiatives in libraries and the theory and statistics behind them, both current and historical. It covers several different aspects of diversity, as well, including race, disability, gender and sexuality, ageism, and cultural competency.
Leading Change in Academic Libraries
by
"Institutions of higher education and academic libraries are not the traditional organizations they once were. They are subject to a variety of forces, including shifting and changing populations, technological changes, public demands for affordability and accountability, and changing approaches to research and learning. Academic libraries can no longer establish their excellence and ground their missions, visions, and strategic directions using the old means and methods. Leading Change in Academic Libraries is a collection of 20 change stories authored by academic librarians from different types of four-year institutions. Librarians tell the story firsthand of how they managed major change in processes, functions, services, programs, or overall organizations using John Kotters Eight-Stage Process of Creating Major Change as a framework for examining change at their institutions, measuring their successes and areas for improvement, and determining progress. In five sections--strategic planning, reorganization, culture change, new roles, and technological change--chapters discuss tackling common challenges such as fear, anxiety, change fatigue, complacency, unexpected changes of leadership, vacancies, and resistance; look at the results of their tactics; and provide effective practices they found. Each section ends with a thorough analysis of the stories within and the most effective tips for leading that kind of change. Leading Change in Academic Libraries can help you establish flexible, nimble, and collaborative decision-making processes, and facilitate the transition from legacy collections-based libraries to forward-looking service-based libraries"--from the ALA website.
This book focuses on implementing and creating change in academic libraries, and is organized into five parts; strategic planning, reorganization, culture change, new roles, and technological change. While not focused directly on implementing DEIA changes, the ideas, principles, and frameworks in this book can be used to implement institutional changes within the library. Particularly useful in implementing DEIA changes within the workforce of your library are parts one and two, which focus on strategic planning and reorganization, respectively.
Anantachai, T., Booker, L., Lazzaro, A., & Parker, M. (2016). Establishing a Communal Network for Professional Advancement among Librarians of Color. In Hankins, R., & Juarez, M. (2015). Where are all the librarians of color? : the experiences of people of color in academia (pp. 31-54). Library Juice Press.
Anaya, T., & Maxey-Harris, C. (2017). SPEC Kit 356: Diversity and Inclusion. Association of Research Libraries. https://doi.org/10.29242/spec.356
Barlow, D. L., & Jaeger, P. T. (2017). Celebrating the James Partridge Award : Essays Toward the Development of a More Diverse, Inclusive, and Equitable Field of Library and Information Science.
Boff, C., & Cardwell, C. (2020). Leading Change in Academic Libraries. Association of College and Research Libraries.
Brown, J., Ferretti, J. A., Leung, S., & Méndez-Brady, M. (2018). We Here: Speaking Our Truth. Library Trends, 67(1), 163-181. https://doi.org/10.1353/lib.2018.0031
Bugg, K. (2017). The Perception of Library Directors of Color in Academic Libraries Concerning the Connection Between Their Time as Middle Managers and Their Ability to Advance into Senior Library Leadership.
Cooke, N. A., & Colón-Aguirre, M. (2021). "Killing It from the Inside": Acknowledging and Valuing Black, Indigenous, and People of Color as LIS Faculty. Library Quarterly: Information, Community, Policy, 91(3), 243-249. https://doi.org/10.1086/714324
Deards, K., & Puente, M. A. (2020). Improving Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Libraries: Programs and Methodologies to Consider. Research Library Issues, (301), 43-70. https://doi.org/10.29242/rli.301.4
Defa, D. R. (2012) Recruitment of Employees in Academic Libraries: Advice from the HR Perspective. Library Leadership & Management (Online), 26, 1-10.
Elteto, S., Jackson, R. M., & Lim, A. (2008). Is the Library a “Welcoming Space”?: An Urban Academic Library and Diverse Student Experiences. Portal (Baltimore, Md.), 8(3), 325-337. https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.0.0008
Frögéli, E., Jenner, B., & Gustavsson, P. (2023) Effectiveness of formal onboarding for facilitating organizational socialization: A systematic review. PLoS One, 18(2): e0281823. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0281823
Gasman, M. (2016, September 20). The five things no one will tell you about why colleges don’t hire more faculty of color. Hechinger Report, https://hechingerreport.org/five-things-no-one-will-tell-colleges-dont-hire-faculty-color/
Glusker, A., Emmelhainz, C., Estrada, N., & Dyess, B. (2022). "Viewed as Equals": The Impacts of Library Organizational Cultures and Management on Library Staff Morale. Journal of Library Administration, 62(2). https://doi.org/10.1080/01930826.2022.2026119
Gray, J. (2007). Building a Diversity Plan - Strategic Planning for Diversity | Advocacy, Legislation & Issues. American Library Association. Retrieved 11/3/2022, from https://www.ala.org/advocacy/diversity/workplace/diversityplanning
Graybill, J. O., Hudson Carpenter, M. T., Offord, J.,Jr, Piorun, M., & Shaffer, G. (2013). Employee onboarding: identification of best practices in ACRL libraries. Library Management, 34(3), 200-218. https://doi.org/10.1108/01435121311310897
Griffin, M., Lazzaro, A., Booker, L. & Anatachai, T. (2022). https://acrl.libguides.com/diversity/standardstoolkit. Association of College & Research Libraries LibGuides.
Harker, K., O'Toole, E., & Stassen, C. (2018). Assessing an Academic Library Professional Development Program. Libraries and the Academy, 18(1). https://doi.org/10.1353/pla.2018.0010
Harper, L. M. (2020). Recruitment and retention strategies of LIS students and professionals from underrepresented groups in the United States. Library Management, 41(2/3), 67-77. https://doi.org/10.1108/LM-07-2019-0044
Harper, N., Franklin, K. Y., & Williams, J. (2021). DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION (DEI) SCORECARD FOR LIBRARY AND INFORMATION ORGANIZATIONS. ALA.
Johannessen, H. (2018). The need to grow, learn and develop - how does management affect motivation for professional development?. LIBER Quarterly, 28(1). https://doi.org/10.18352/lq.10238
Neely, T., & Peterson, L. (2007, Oct 1,). Achieving racial and ethnic diversity among academic and research librarians: The recruitment, retention, and advancement of librarians of color—A white paper. College & Research Libraries News, 68, 562-565. https://doi.org/10.5860/crln.68.9.7869
Noor, T., Bell, N., Chan, M. P., Liu, G., & Ramos, A. (2018). Roundtable: What is Holding Librarianship Back from Being more Inclusive of Visible Minorities. Partnership: The Canadian Journal of Library and Information Practice and Research, 13(2). https://doi.org/10.21083/partnership.v13i2.4887
Office for Diversity Literacy and Outreach Services. (2011). Recruiting for Diversity | Advocacy, Legislation & Issues. American Library Association.
Poole, A. H., Agosto, D., Greenberg, J., Lin, X., & Yan, E. (2021). Where Do We Stand? Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Social Justice in North American. Library and Information Science Education, 62(3). https://doi.org/10.3138/jelis.2020-0018
Sanchez-Rodriguez, N. (2021). In Pursuit of Diversity in the CUNY Library Profession: An Effective Approach to Leadership in Academic Libraries https://doi.org/10.1080/01930826.2020.1853470
Schomberg, J., & Highby, W. (2020). Beyond Accommodation: Creating an Inclusive Workplace for Disabled Library Workers. Library Juice Press.
Sensoy, Ö, & DiAngelo, R. (2017). "We Are All for Diversity, but...": How Faculty Hiring Committees Reproduce Whiteness and Practical Suggestions for How They Can Change. Harvard Educational Review, 87(4), 557-595.
Shahzad, K., Khan, S., Javed, Y., & Iqbal, A. (2023). E-Learning for Continuing Professional Development of University Librarians: A systematic Review. Sustainability, 15(1). https://doi.org/10.3390/su15010849
Snyder, L., & Crane, E. (2016). Developing and Implementing an Onboarding Program for an Academic Library: Strategies and Methods. Library Leadership & Management, 30(3). https://doi.org/10.5860/llm.v30i3.7164
Thielen, J., & Marsolek, W. (2022). Taking a Diversity, Equity, Inclusion & Accessibility Lens to Engineering Librarian Job Postings: Recommendations from an Analysis of Postings from 2018 and 2019. Journal of Escience Librarianship, 11(1), 1212. https://doi.org/10.7191/jeslib.2022.1212
University at Buffalo Libraries. (2022). Equity & Social Justice Advisory Group Resources: Home. University at Buffalo Libraries LibGuides
WAGNER, M. M., & WILLMS, D. (2010). The Urban Library Program: Challenges to Educating and Hiring a Diverse Workforce. Library Trends, 59(1-2)