Skip to main content

Continuity of Library Services

Librarian Support

Librarians are available to support you in your online classroom work. Please explore the information below on how to embed library resources directly into your courses, including streaming films, eBooks and more.

Contact a librarian for assistance with library resources: 

To request digital library instruction, please fill out our request form: http://fitchburgstate.libwizard.com/instructionrequest

You can also obtain assistance online through: Let's Chat.  Librarians are available through chat (Chat with a Librarian or Google Hangouts), email, or an online appointment.

Questions and concerns can be sent to Jackie Kremer: jkremer@fitchburgstate.edu

Embed Content in Blackboard

There are a variety of library resources that can be linked to or embedded into your Blackboard course.

Scanning for Reserves and Sharing - Cam Scanner

Scan documents and images easily with your mobile device. It is fast, convenient, and free. Note: if you register with your .edu email address, Cam Scanner will give you a year of the paid version free.

Start by downloading and creating an account on your phone. The link below shows the features of the app, along with instructions for both Android and iPhone, and many tutorials.

The app has options to send documents straight to Google Drive, any other cloud based platform, or you can email it to yourself.

Happy Scanning!

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.intsig.camscanner&hl=en_US 

Online Library Research Tutorials

A four part, interactive tutorial series (Library Research 101) is available to introduce students to the foundations of library research. Students will learn how to find, evaluate, and use information ethically at an introductory level.

Each tutorial introduces concepts and skills along with assessment questions in the form of multiple choice and true or false.

Go to fitchburgstate.libguides.com/iltutorials/101 to access the digital tutorials.


The library's YouTube channel currently includes video demonstrations on search tools, advanced searching, and interlibrary loan. The channel will be updated with new content while classes are online. Direct links to the most current videos are below:

Additional and Temporary Resources

With the move of instruction fully online across the world, many publishers are providing free access to their online materials to academic libraries.

While some of these collections can be accessed directly through their websites where noted, they are many that can be accessed through Search box on the Library homepage or the databases which normally contain the resources. Others are searchable only in the individual database: see below "Additional Databases NOT accessed through Library's Search Box".

Please note: many of the following databases and resources are only temporarily available.


Free Web Resources:

  • Internet Archive: The Internet Archive is a treasure trove of fascinating media, texts, and ephemera. Items that if they didn’t exist here, would be lost forever.

Additional Databases NOT accessed through Library's Search Box

eBooks