Skip to main content

Music Resources Guide: Books and Reference

Music Resources for support of the humanities minor.

In the Stacks

Books on music in the general collections are all shelved with call numbers starting with M. (This is one of the only classifications where the letter and the subject match up!)

Reference Resources

New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians REF ML102.O6N5 1992

New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments REF ML102.I5 N48 1984

New Grove Dictionary of Opera REF ML100.N48 2001 29 vols. 

The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music REF ML102.P66 G84 1995

Popular Music REF ML120.U5 S5

Full-text eBooks:

Popular Music of the World: Locations

Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry & Society

Popular Music of the World: Performance & Production

Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music

Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music

Harvard Dictionary of Music

New Penguin Dictionary of Music

Subject Headings

The following phrases may be helpful to search as subjects or keyword in the library catalog to find books on the shelves:

  • Blues (Music)
  • Composition (Music)
  • Jazz
  • Music
  • Music-Philosophy and aesthetics
  • Music-United States-History and Criticism
  • Musical Accompaniment
  • Musical Instruments
  • Musicals
  • Opera
  • Singing
  • Songs-Texts

 

Gallucci-Cirio Library Search

Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services

Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs.This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.

Subject Guide

Nancy Turnbull's picture
Nancy Turnbull
Contact:
HA-201A,, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library, Hammond Hall
978-665-4338

Ask a Librarian: Research Help Desk