This is the "Home" page of the "Genealogy Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genealogy Research  

Find out more about your families history using these resources.
Last Updated: Nov 9, 2011 URL: http://fitchburgstate.libguides.com/genealogy Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Most people don't think of using local college libraries for genealogy research.  College and university libraries are actually great places to look for family history.  At Fitchburg State College, we provide access to historical newspapers.  This includes local papers and The New York Times.  We also proivde access to genealogy research tools like HeritageQuest and Ancestry.com.  These tools provide you with census data, birth and death data, and more official documents.  Almost every academic library provides access to the college or university archives.  At Fitchburg State College you can find old year books and newspapers in our archives. 

This guide is designed to give you easy access to all the resources.  Please feel free to use this when you are doing your genealogy research at Fitchburg State College.

 

Visiting FSC

  • These resources are available only when you come to the FSC library.
  • Computers are available:
    • Weekdays: up to 1 hour between 4-9pm
    • Weekends, Summer Semester and Holidays: up to 2 hours any time during the day
  • Feel free to bring your laptop if you have one.
    • Wi-fi Internet access is available for free (no login required) for laptops.
  • The library staff is happy to help you, just ask.
  • Printing is free, ask a librarian for the guest card.
  • Purchase a card to check out books at the circulation desk
    • Fitchburg residents: $10 for 6 months, $20 for 1 year
    • Everyone else: $15 for 6 months, $30 for 1 year
 

FSC Archives

You can visit our college archives by appointment.  Contact Robert Foley via email or phone to set up an appointment.

 

News Sources

Local Papers are available on the Internet, print or microfilm:

Historical Fitchburg Papers are all located in microfilm.  Ask a librarian to help you locate these in the library.

  • Fitchburg (daily/weekly) sentinel
    • from 1843-1857 to 1973
  • Fitchburg daily news
    • from 1904-1905, July 1907 to Oct-Dec1913
  • Fitchburg daily sentinel
    • from 1873 to 06/01/1942
  • Fitchburg evening mail
    • from 07/01/1895 to Dec.1895
  • Fitchburg reveille
    • from 03/31/1852 to 03/25/1875
  • Fitchburg sentinel
    • from 01/01/1858 to Dec.1873
    • from 1922 to 1973
  • Fitchburg weekly sentinel
    • from 1872 to 1881
  • Fitchburg-Leominster sentinel and enterprise
    • from v. 137-148, 1976 to 1988

Learn More About Your Ancestors

Are you looking for a FSC alumni?  Use the Fitchburg Alumni Directory to find more about them.  You can find it in the Reference collection of the library on the first floor.  The call number is: Ref. LD3231.M87F57 2005

 

Fitchburg Books

Subject Guide

 
© 2000-2010 Fitchburg State College - 160 Pearl St., Fitchburg MA 01420-2697 - (978) 345-2151

The Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library is collecting anonymous traffic data for this website using Google Analytics

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip