by Linda LeBlanc
Last Updated Oct 25, 2023
0 views this year
Search Strategy
Creating a search strategy helps you stay organized as you are working on a research project. Use the following Google Doc to get started. You can create a copy of this Google Doc and add it to your Google Drive by selecting File > Make a copy.
These are a few databases you can use to find background information on a topic before searching for scholarly research articles. Learning more about an issue helps you round out your eventual research and essays.
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.
Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.
Newspapers
As a member of the Fitchburg State University community, you have access to hundreds of newspapers. Because good journalism isn't free, newspaper websites can only give you access to a set number of free articles a month. The FSU library, however, subscribes to databases with access to these newspapers and also has print issues for major newspapers on the second floor.
Some of these major, and reputable, news sources are linked below. If you don't see a newspaper you're looking for, let us know or check out one of these databases.
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
