Research Help: Business Research Guide: Overview

About this Guide

The Business Research guide is a curated list of business sources which includes library subscribed resources like databases and journals as well as freely available web resources.

The Library website contains access to all of the library's resources (not just business) and information about library services and spaces. If unable to find information or sources on this guide, please visit the library website or contact Connie Strittmatter - cstrittm@fitchburgstate.edu for assistance.

Business Databases

Below is a selected list of business databases by topic area that the Library subscribes to. For freely accessible web resources please visit the subject tabs on the menu.

Business Cases

Sage Business Cases Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
SAGE Business Cases is our robust digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs - providing faculty, students, and researchers with unlimited access to more than 5,500 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.

General Business Databases

The databases listed below are extensive. They include scholarly, trade and news articles, SWOT analysis, industry reports, country reports and more. If looking for articles and information on a business topic, these databases will be useful.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
With premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals, this database is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.
ABI/Inform This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals for Accounting.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage for regional business publications.

Industry Databases

Industry reports

typically provides an overview of an industry, market or sector in a particular geographic area
usually includes definitions, key trends & outlook, leading companies, competitive landscape, industry data (size, value, sales, ratios), key economic indicators and other related topics
often written by analysts or experts in the field

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Expert industry market research to help you make better business decisions, faster. Industry market research reports, statistics, analysis, data, and trends.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Contains industry reports with market analysis on more than 1000 top industry segments. Each report consists of key statistics and analysis on market and competitive landscape characteristics, operating conditions, business challenges, industry trends, current and historical industry growth, and more. Many reports also include a global industry analysis.

Statistical Databases

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics, market research and business intelligence portal. The platform consists over 1,500,000 statistics on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Apart from statistics, Statista also provides data on market forecasts, white paper studies, dossiers, industry reports, digital market outlooks and consumer market outlooks.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
The standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Company Financial Information

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent Online provides information on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers and directors. It also includes equity reports for publicly traded companies.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Newspaper Databases

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window Available through US Newsstream
New York Times This link opens in a new window 2004-Present. Search the New York Times from 1851- 2002 using The New York Times Digital Access with the New York TimesMachine ‎ (1851 - 2002)
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni™, the new interface for Lexis/Nexis. Nexis Uni is a full-text news, business, and legal database with 17,000 sources from around the world, including local, regional, national, and international newspapers, scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular magazines, television and radio broadcasts, and newswires and blogs. Legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. Also contains business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies.

Interlibrary Loan

The Library does not have access to every article and book. If you locate an article and are not able to obtain the full-text, you can submit a request through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Our ILL team will locate a library that has access to the article and send you a digital copy of it. Beow is a tutorial explaining how to set up your ILL account and request articles and books.

ILLiad

Business Research Guide

Guides for Specific Business Classes

Business Librarian

About this Guide

Business Databases

Newspaper Databases

Interlibrary Loan