Research Help: COMM 1105: Introduction to Communication and Media Studies (Sylvia): Getting Started

Background Research

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Encyclopaedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
The online edition of the oldest English-language general encyclopaedia.
Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides access to sources for analysis of current events, issues of international importance, and detailed information about nations. Each entry pulls together source material to analyze social, political, military, economic, health and cultural issues and includes access to newspapers and periodicals, web sites, and multimedia features.

Podcasts

Follow

The Vergecast
Hosted by Nilay Patel and Dieter Bohn, alongside a cavalcade of tech luminaries, Vergecast is the only podcast you need to make sense of the week in tech news. The weekly show gives an irreverent and informative look at what's happening right now (and next) in the world of technology and gadgets.
Why'd You Push That Button?
Why’d You Push That Button? is a podcast about the choices technology forces us to make, featuring interviews with consumers, developers, friends, and strangers. Hosted by The Verge’s Ashley Carman and Kaitlyn Tiffany, Why’d You Push That Button? asks the hard, weird, occasionally dumb questions about how your tiny tech decisions impact your social life.
On the Media
WNYC’s weekly investigation into how the media shapes our worldview.
Endless Thread
Endless Thread, a new podcast from WBUR and Reddit, delves into Reddit’s boundless communities with the help of Reddit and Redditors, exploring some of the most compelling stories the internet has to offer. This is a show for Reddit connoisseurs, skeptics, and the rest of us.
Wired
Get in-depth coverage of current and future trends in technology, and how they are shaping business, entertainment, communications, science, politics, and society.
Everyday Ethics
Everyday Ethics is a weekly podcast hosted by veteran broadcaster Craig Kopp, featuring media ethicist Kelly McBride of the Poynter Institute, and medical ethicist Art Caplan of NYU's Langone Medical Center. Each week we take a look at many of the common situations we all find ourselves in, and break them down to better understand the ethical considerations surrounding them. Know the difference between what you have a right to do and what's right to do.

Episodes

Videos

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Access to streaming films and documentaries across a wide range of disciplines and subject areas.

Newspapers

As a member of the Fitchburg State University community, you have access to hundreds of newspapers. Because good journalism isn't free, newspaper websites can only give you access to a set number of free articles a month. The FSU library, however, subscribes to databases with access to these newspapers and also has print issues for major newspapers on the second floor.

Some of these major, and reputable, news sources are linked below. If you don't see a newspaper you're looking for, let us know or check out one of these databases.

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, and many others.
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.

Massachusetts

United States

International

Instruction & Research Librarian

Renée Fratantonio

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

For immediate assistance, call 978-665-3223 while Renee is out of office until June 10, 2024.

Other Guides

COMM 2003: History of Interactive Media (Moody)
by Renée Fratantonio Last Updated Oct 26, 2023 11 views this year
Fake News
by Renée Fratantonio Last Updated Oct 26, 2023 252 views this year
Newspapers and News Sources
by Renée Fratantonio Last Updated Oct 24, 2023 35 views this year
IDIS 1000: Intro to Women, Gender & Sex (Lorencova)
by Renée Fratantonio Last Updated Oct 24, 2023 42 views this year
IDIS 1800: Global Issues (Ozay)
by Renée Fratantonio Last Updated Oct 24, 2023 0 views this year
Comm/Media Research Guide
by Sherry Packard Last Updated Dec 28, 2023 251 views this year