Skip to main content

Borrowing Services: Borrow and Renew @ Ameila V. Gallucci-Cirio Library

Here you will find information about borrowing and renewing library materials from the Amelia V. Gallucci0Cirio Library, from our Cross-borrowing library partners and from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan Service.

In-Library Use Only

Several of the library's collections may only be used within the library:

  • Archives & Speccial Collections by appointment only
  • Course Reserve items designated as 2-hour, in-library-use
  • Print journals, newspapers, magazines and microfiche collections
  • Reference Books

There are photocopier/scanner machines available if you need to make copies. Materials from the Archives and Special Collections may be subject to restrictions against duplication.

Materials that May be Checked Out & Study Rooms

Borrowing Information by CollectionStudentsFaculty & StaffUpward Bound & Summer BridgeCommunity Users
CDs, General, Children's Literature, Oversized & Young Adult Collections Loan Period 28 days 180 days 14 days 28 days
Renewals, Holds and Recalls allowed Yes Yes Yes Yes
Overdue Fine $15 N/A $15 $15
Processing Fee (assessed with the lost/damaged fee) $15 $15 $15 $15
Lost/Damaged Fee Cost of the Item Cost of the Item Cost of the Item Cost of the Item
DVDs & VHS Loan Period 14 days 14 days 14 days 14 days
Renewals, Holds and Recalls allowed Yes Yes Yes Yes
Overdue Fine $15 N/A $15 $15
Processing Fee (assessed with the lost/damaged fee) $15 $15 $15 $15
Lost/Damaged Fee Cost of the Item Cost of the Item Cost of the Item Cost of the Item
Course Reserves & Equipment (headphones, DVD drives, etc.) Loan Period (depends on the item)
  • 2-hour, in-Library
  • 1 day
  • 7 days
N/A N/A N/A
Renewals, Holds and Recalls allowed Renewals and Recalls N/A N/A N/A
Overdue Fine $2/day N/A N/A N/A
Processing Fee (assessed with the lost/damaged fee) $15 N/A N/A N/A
Lost/Damaged Fee Cost of the Item N/A N/A N/A
Study Rooms - Reserve online Reservation Length 2 hours 2 hours 2 hours N/A
Renewals Yes, up to an additional 2 hours Yes, up to an additional 2 hours Yes, up to an additional 2 hours
Damaged Fee Cost of repairs Cost of repairs Cost of repairs N/A

 Note: If a lost item is returned, the Lost Fee is waived and the processing fee converts into the overdue fine.

Renewing, Requesting a Hold & Recalls

Renewing Library Items

You are responsible for insuring that items you have borrowed are returned on time. A date due card is placed in each item upon being checked out and you can check your due dates online through the library catalog. You may continue to renew an item as long as it is not on hold for another patron or needed for Course Reserves as long as your library account is current. Use one of the following methods to renew an item:

Renew Online: Go to the library catalog: http://nimue.fsc.edu/vwebv/login. Click on the “My Account” tab and enter your last name and barcode/institution ID information:

  • Barcode = your student Banner # with the “@” symbol changed to a zero.
  • Institution ID = your student Banner number the way it is printed on your student One Card with all of the leading zeroes dropped.

This will take you to your account where you should see buttons for “View Personal Information” and “Edit Preferences”, and a list of items you currently have checked out. In front of each item there is a check box – check the items you want to renew and then click on the “Request Renewal” button at the top of the list. The status for each item you selected should change to “Renewed” and a new due date should appear. Once you are done you can click on the “Logout” link in the upper right hand corner.

Renew over the Phone: Call us at (978) 665-3063. Make sure to include your name, Banner ID number and the titles you wish to renew.

Renew by Emailing Us: Make sure to include your name, Banner ID number and the titles you wish to renew.

Renew at The Circulation Desk: Stop by the Circulation Desk at any time with your One Card and ask to have your items renewed; you don't need to have the items with you.

Requesting a Hold on an Item

If an item is that you need is currently checked out, you may request a Hold. A Hold will flag the item upon its return and let you know that it is available for you to come get. Holds must be placed through the Circulation Desk. You can do this at the desk or via phone or email following the same steps as for renewing an item.

Recalls

All items may be subject to recall by the library for any of the following:

  • Any item checked out to a Community User if it is needed for a Fitchburg State student, staff or faculty member
  • Any item that is needed for Course Reserves

Circulation Desk and Office

Circulation Office

Located in HA-112, behind the Circulation Desk.

Office Hours: Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.


Circulation Desk

Hours: Same as the Library


Contact Us

circulation@fitchburgstate.edu
(978) 665-3063

Kelly Boudreau, Public Services Manager
(978) 665-3065

Jordanna Lawton, Public Services Associate
(978) 665-3762

Borrowing Policies