Research Help: SOC 2440: Urban Sociology (Arend): Home

Useful Resources

Citation Guide
Detailed help creating citations.
Reserve Study Room
Reserve space in the library's individual or group study rooms.
ILLiad
Our interlibrary loan (ILL) system. Provide us with the information about the item you want and we will try to get it for you from another library.

Searching for books and articles will help you see what research other people have done about issues. Here are just a few sources to consider.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search Google for scholarly articles.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for regional, national (U.S.) and international newspapers; full text television & radio news transcripts.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, International relations.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Use this web-based version of the OCLC database to look up books, articles and more in libraries worldwide and request them easily via ILLiad.

Statistics and census data often provide a gold mine of information for you to use.

Massachusetts Municipal Profiles Ref HA 431 .M27
- These books combine data from various local agencies and organize it by town. You can see demographic informaiton, taxation and finances.

Massachusetts QuickFacts from the US Census Bureau
You can review just a city or a county
Census 2000 Data for Massachusetts
See all the data from the 2000 census for Massachusetts. Includes General Housing Characteristics, Economic Characteristics and much more!
Commonwealth Communities
Get access to webpages for your cities and communities for more information.

To compare your city or region to the national trends, try some of these sources:

Statistical Absract of the United States REF HA 202 .A38
- Put out by the US Census Bureau, this book summarizes data collected by various national agencies.
- 2008 edition is at the Reference Desk
- See the links bellow for older versions

Statistical Abstract of the United States
The on-line version of the book.
Census Bureau Home Page
See the results of the 2000 census as well as many older versions.

There are tons of ways to get international statistics! Try some of these...

CIA World Factbook
Geograpic, demographic, political, economic, and social statistics on countries, territories and dependencies. Information is updated every two weeks.
NationMaster - World Statistics, Country Comparisons
NationMaster is a massive central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
UN Statistics Division
What does the UN have for international statistics? Find out here!

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

For immediate assistance, call 978-665-3223 while Renee is out of office until June 10, 2024.