Research Help: Biology Research Guide: Home

Biology Course Guides

Books and Subjects

To locate library materials in your area please consult the following subject areas and the books will be shelved by the following call numbers:

GC1-581 Oceanography

QH1-199.5 Natural History

QH301-705 Biology (General)

QK1-989 Botany

QL1-991 Zoology

QM1-695 Human Anatomy

QP1-981 Physiology

QR1-500 Microbiology

TD1-949 Environmental Technology

Locating e-books

The Library subscribes to several e-book packages which can be discovered using Resource Search. Enter search terms in the box below to locate e-books on your topic.

Find Articles

The following databases are your best choices for scientific research.

Biological Abstracts/BIOSIS This link opens in a new window
A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database provides users with easy access to the latest information in virtually every life science discipline. Fitchburg State Coverage is 1955 to the present and most of the records include informative abstracts written by the author. It is produced by Thomson Scientific.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
Full text journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
PubMedCentral This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. Researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and technical literature.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Contains over 220 relevant full text journals in Biology, Medicine and Technology.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use database providing dictionary and encyclopedia entries on subjects in all academic disciplines; a scholarly alternative to Wikipedia. Provides access to over 1,000 reference books.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as full text for more than 4,700 records.
ProQuest Biology Database This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
Science In Context This link opens in a new window
Provides topic overviews, biographies, full-text articles, experiments and images and video related to earth and life science, technology, mathematics and the history of science. Also provides curriculum support for high school teachers by aligning content with state and national standards.
SpringerLink Package This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed science and social science journals. Note: we do not subscribe to every title in this database, however it can be useful for browsing. If you come across an article which requires payment, request it through ILLiad and we will try to get it for you from another library.
SpringerOpen This link opens in a new window
Covers range of fully open access full text journals, which cover all disciplines within science, technology, and medicine .

Additional Databases

Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
Collection of health care data for providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating in medical professions.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.
Health And Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A great resource to begin your research into health issues, this database provides access to full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works and multimedia tools to provide medical information. Now includes Alternative Health.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text of nursing and allied health journals.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information on health-related questions
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.

Subject Guide

Lori Steckervetz

she/they

Email Me

Contact:

Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Room 100

(978) 665-3849

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Citing Sources, DIY Library Help, Earth & Geographic Sciences, Exercise and Sport Science, Faculty/Staff, Graduate Students, Leadership Academy, Mathematics, Other Guides, Psychology, Research Help, Services, STEM Starter Academy