Law and Legal Shortcuts Research Guide: Reference Resources

If you like Wikipedia then you already use reference matieral.  What most people like about Wikipedia is how they can get a comprehensive overview of a topic.  Most people stop there, but in most cases this is just the starting point of research.  Reference material is more than just encyclopedias and dictionaries.  They also include biographies of people, almanacs, quotes, and maps.  Use these resources as a way to learn more about your topic or to pick other resources that will be more indepth.

Get started with some of these great encyclopedias:

• Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
  •     Can be found on the first floor of the library at Ref. KF4548.E53 2000
• Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System
  •     Can be found on the first floor of the library at Ref. KF154.E53 1987
• Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System
  •     Can be found on the first floor of the library at Ref. JF501.E53 1994
• Encyclopedia of the United States Congress
  •     Can be found on the first floor of the library at Ref. JK1067.E63
• West's Encyclopedia of American Law
  
  • Can be found on the first floor of the library at Ref. KF154.W47 2005

Learn more about Supreme Court Justices, members of Congress and the Senate with these resources:

• Biographical Directory of the United States Congress REF. JK1010.A5 1989
  
• The Supreme Court Justices: A Biographical Dictionary REF. KF8744.S859 1994
• The Justices of the United States Supreme Court REF. KF8744.F75