Skip to main content

Faculty Publications: Emeritus Faculty

Colbert, James

Cunningham, Lee N.

"Acute and Chronic Effects of Exercise Using an Exercycle in Healthy, Untrained Adults." Physical Therapy 70.8 (1990): 494-501.

"Aging and Exercise Performance." Clinics in Geriatric Medicine 2.2 (May 1986): 433-452.

"Aging and Running related to peripheral Blood Flow." Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise 13 (1981)

"Applied Physiology of Exercise: A Biological Awareness Concept." Journal of Physical Education and Recreation (Oct. 1973): 30-31.

"Body Composition and Somatotype of male and female Nordic Skiers." Research Quarterly 48.4 :741-749.

"Body Size and the Growth of Maximal Aerobic Power in Children: A Longitudinal Analysis." Pediatric Exercise Science 9.3 (Aug. 1997): 183-188.

"Cardiopulmonary response to submaximal exercise in persons with insulin-dependent diabetes(IIDM)." Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise 17 (1985): 182.

"Changes in Physiological Determinants of Elite Irish distance runners over a 6-month Training cycle." Medicine and Science in Sports and Exercise 18.2 (1986): S90(444).

"Developing an Endurance Exercise Program for the Diabetic Patient." Diabetes Educator (Fall 1982): 11-16.

"Energy cost of concurrent training." Medicine and Science in Sports Exercise 28.2 (May 1996): S44(263).

Cunningham, Lee, and Louis Vignati. "Exercise and Diabetes." Joslin's Diabetes Mellitus.  Lea & Febiger, Philadelphia, 1985: 453-464.

"Exercise Requires Changes In Management Program." Diabetes in the News (Spring 1980): 8C.

The Exercising Adult . "The Adult Diabetic and Exercise." Lexington:Collamore Press, 1982: 75-94.

"Height-Weight Indices and Blood Lipids in Normal Control and Offspring of Conjugal Diabetics."

DeNike, Lee

An Exploratory Study Of Cognitive Style As A Predictor Of Learning From Simulation Games. Kent Ohio: Kent State University, 1973. Special Collection BF723.C5 D45 1975.

The Media Manual. Fitchburg, 1976. Special Collection TS2301.A7M4.

 

Dufault, John

"Intellectual Ability as a Determinant of Perception: A Systematic Study."  Psychology 16.2 (1979): 41-46.

"Jean Jacques Rousseau: The Conservative Radical." Midwest education Review 11.4 (Summer 1979): 7-14.

Fandreyer, Ernest

"Mathematics Education: A Remark from the practitioner's point of view." UME Trends (Jan. 1991): 6.

New Proof of the Theorem That Every Algebriac Rational Integral Function in One Variable Can Be Resolved into Real Factors of the First or the Second Degree. 2002. Special Collection and General Collection QA155.G38.

Transformation Geometry in High School. Marquette University, 1971.

Gardula, Robert

Fitchburg: A Profile. Fitchburg: Fitchburg Industrial Development Commission, 2nd edition, 1987. Special Collection F74.F5G37 1987.

Fitchburg: A Profile. Fitchburg: Fitchburg Industrial Development Commission, 1993. Special Collection F74.F5G37 1993.

Fitchburg Business and Community Profile. Fitchburg: Fitchburg Industrial Development Commission, 1983. Special Collection F74.F5G37 1983.

Gerecke, Lillian

"College Students to the Rescue." School Library Journal 29.10 (Aug. 1983): 31.

"Happy New Year." School Library Journal 30.1 (Sept. 1983): 3.

How to Use Wordless Picture Books with Your Child. Fitchburg: Fitchburg State College, 1990.

"Selector vs Cheerleaders." School Library Journal 29.10 (Aug. 1983): 2.

Grabar, Terry

"Fact and Fiction: Morier's Hajji Baba." Texas Studies in Literature and Language 11.3 (Fall 1969): 1223-1236.

Hardy and Darwin. Wilmington, Delaware: North East Modern Language Association, Spring 1989.

"Scientific Education and Richard Feverel." Victorian Studies 14.2 (Dec. 1970): 129-141.

"Tutorial Versus Classroom in Freshman English." College English 37.7 (Mar. 1976): 654-656.

King, Mary A.

"A Call for Services: Closing a Chasm in Criminal Justice." Council for Standards in Human Service Education (2001): 5-17.

Fulfillment in Success: The American Dream Reconsidered. (1989-1990): 61-90.

"The Internship Seminar: A Development Approach." N. S. E. E. Quarterly 21.1 (Fall 1995): 22-25.

"Placements Across the Miles." Human Service Education 13.1 (Fall 1993): 35-43.

"Regional Survey Indentifies Issues, Raise Concerns." Human Service Educator (Spring 1991): 10.

"Stages of an Internship: An Organizing Framework." Human Service Education 14.1 (Fall 1994):25-38.

King, Mary A. and H. Frederick Sweitzer. The Successful Internship.Pacific Grove: Brooks/Cole Publishing, 1999.

King, Mary A. and H. Frederick Sweitzer. The Successful Internship. Belmont: Thomson, 2004, 2nd ed.

King, Mary A. and H. Frederick Sweitzer. The Successful Internship: Personal, Professional, and Civic Development. Belmont, CA: Brooks/Cole, 2008. Spec Col LC1072.I84 2009

Kokernak, Robert

"By The Light of The Moon."  Hoof Beats 57.1 (Mar. 1989): 133.

Fluid Power Technology.  New York: Macmillan College Publishing, 1994.  Special Collection TJ843.K637 1994

"Industrial Science at Fitchburg State College: A College/Industrial Model."  Journal of Industrial Technology 3.2 (Winter 1987): 8.

"It ain't like the Movies."  Sunday Telegram [Worcester] 13 Mar. 1988, Sunday Morning ed.: 3.

"The Magic of Breeding and Racing Horses."  Sunday Telegram [Worcester] 6 Mar. 1988, Sunday Morning ed.: 3.

"My First Great Adventure by Rail."  Sunday Telegram [Worcester] 25 Sept. 1988, Sunday Morning ed.: 3c.

"One man's Junk is another's Treasure."  Sunday Telegram [Worcester] 10 July 1988, sec. Sunday Morning: 3.

"On The Trails of a Shot."  Country Journal 16.1 (Jan. 1989): 37.

"What went wrong with Harness Racing in Massachusetts?"  Hoof Beats 56.4 (June 1988): 19.

"Young Meadow Farm: A New England Showcase."  Hoof Beats 56.12 (Feb. 1989): 82.

Kokernak, Robert P, and Harold W Morrow.  Statics and Strength of Materials.  4th ed. Upper Saddle River: Prentice Hall, 2007.  Special Collection TA405.M877 2001

Madden, Barbara

"The Hybrid Model for Concept Development: Its Value for the Study of Therapeutic Alliance." Advances in Nusring Sciences 12.3 (Apr. 1990): 75.

Marion, Mildred

Marion, Mildred and Shelia L. Fredette. Introduction to Pharmacology. Fitchburg, MA: Fitchburg State College Press, 1978.

"Nursing in the Dominican Republic." Commonwealth Undergraduate Review 3 (1978-1998): 73-74.

Marion, Mildred; Constance A. Hoyt and Shelia L. Fredette. Pharmacology Learning Guide. St. Louis: C. V. Mosby Co., 1981. Special Collection RM300.M1935.

Mazeika, John J.

"Preparing Public Health SubProfessionals Recruited from The Poverty Group- Lessons fron an Oeo Work-Study program." Journal of Public Health 57.2 (Feb. 1967): 242-252.

McCaffrey, Marilyn

RROYAL: Reader's Review of Young Adult Literature. 2003.

RROYAL: Reader's Review of Young Adult Literature. 2002.

RROYAL: Reader's Review of Young Adult Literature. 2001.

Melvin, Harold

"Is Religion in Decline?" Harrod Lecture Series 5 (1983-1984): 31-43.

Merriam, George H.

"Craft Unions vs. Industrial Unions: The 1917 Strike at the Maine Central Railroad Shops." Maine Historical Society Quarterly 27.3 (Winter 1987): 193.

"Frederic C Dumaine, Jr, E. Spencer Miller." Encyclopedia of America : 124, 298, 300 and 322.

"Journey into an Industrial Past." Worcester Telegram [Worcester] Dec. 13, 1975: 2.

"Just a Streak of Rust? Northern New England's Growing Railroad Crisis." Harrod Lecture Series 9 (1987-1988): 53-76.

"The Maine Central's Waterville Shop Strike of 1922." Railroad History 149 (1983): 83-99.

"'A Man of Large Experience' : Edwin Noyes and Railroad Development in Maine." Railroad History 156 (Spring 1987): 11.

Micciche, Pasquale

"Gol'denberg, Iosif Petrovich" The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Histrory. Academic International Press: 220-223.

"Ishutin, Nikolai Andreevich." The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Histrory. Academic International Press: 2-4.

"Lizogub, Dmitrii Andreevich." The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Histrory. Academic International Press: 116-119.

"Molodaia Rossiia." The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Histrory. Academic International Press: 18-22.

"Newspaper Journalism in Prerevolutionary Russia." Nieman Reports 41.1 (Spring 1987): 38-40.

"Serno-Solov'evich, Nikolai Aleksandrovich." The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Histrory. Academic International Press, 34: 80-86.

"Sovremennik." Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History. Academic International Press, 37 (1984): 12-20.

"Terrorism In Russia." The Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet Histrory. Academic International Press, 39: 10-17.

The University Student of the 1860's: Zaichnevskii's "Molodaya Rossiya" and the Dictatorship of Youth. Fitchburg: Paper of New England Slavic Association.

 

Moon, John V.

Moon, John V. and Erhard Geissler. Biological and Toxin Weapons: Research, Development and Use from the Middle Ages to 1945. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999. Special Collection UG447.8.B54 1999.

"More than Meets the Eye." Montachusett Review Oct. 12, 1983: 1.

Moore, Jeanne H.

"Eugene O'Neill's Life as Drama in The Iceman Cometh and Long Day's Journey Into Night." Harrod Lecture Series 17 (1998-2000): 57-88.

Norton, Donald H.

Major Provisions of the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Fitchburg, MA: Fitchburg State College Press, 1972.

Ouellette, Janice

"Notes from the special Collection- Some Keys to History."  Darmouth College Library Bulletin 9.2 (Apr. 1971): 110-114.

Pally, Erwin

"Adam in the Wasteland." Harrod Lecture Series 1 (1979).

"The Part Played by Consciousness in Mental Operations." Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods 5.16 (July 1908): 421.

"Rags to Riches: The New Route." Harrod Lecture Series 4 (1981-1982): 31-54.

"Why Political Correctness Prospers." Harrod Lecture Series 14 (1993-1994): 3-20.

Ryder, David

Ryder, David and Linda M. Newman. The Fitchburg Mosaic Sourcebook. Fitchburg, MA: Fitchburg State College Press, 1983. Special Collection F74.F5.R9 1983.

Schmidt, Donald

"Academic Freedom for High School Students." Iowa Science Teacher's Journal 4.2 (Dec. 1966): 35.

"Acid Rain." Harrod Lecture Series 4(1981-1982): 78-94.

"An Activity Designed to Illustrate Science as a Process of Ongoing Inquiry." School Science and Mathematics 69.5 (May 1969): 406-410.

"Another Study of 'Images'." Current Science Teacher's Edition 53.28 (Apr. 1968): 3.

"Attitudes Concerning Scientists: A Study Group of High Ability Students." School Science and Mathematics (Feb. 1971): 116-120.

"Can We Teach?" Journal of Research in Science Teaching 4.3 (1966): 175.

"Classroom Ideas." Science Teacher 34.2 (Feb. 1967): 48.

"Communication by Writing: A Basic Part of Science Education." Iowa Science Teacher's Journal 19.2 (Sept. 1982): 8.

"A Comparison of Abilities of Secondary Teachers and Students to Understand Science." Iowa Science Teacher's Journal 5.2 (Dec. 1967): 18-20.

"Consumer Science: A Viewpoint." Iowa Science Teacher's Journal 15.1 (1978): 21.

"Diatoms As Water Quality Indicators: Part I." Phytologia 30.5 (Mar. 1975): 369.

"Diatoms As Water Quality Indicators: Part 2." Phytologia 41.5 (Feb. 1979): 321.

"Ecological Concepts Taught with Small Lawn Grass Gardens." Science Activities 15.4 (Winter 1978): 9.

"The Image of the Scientist among Iowa High School Students." Proceedings of the Iowa Academy of Science (1968): 373-376.

"In Keokuk 1961." Know-How (Nov.-Dec.): 10.

"Innovations in Secondary Biology Instruction." School Science and Mathematics (Apr. 1966): 325-330.

"The Long White Lab Coat." Science and Children 8.7 (Apr. 1971): 28.

Massachusetts Arts in Education Review 1981- The Year of the Moth. Fitchburg, MA: Fitchburg State College Press, 1981.

"Microscope Slide Preparation." American Biology Teacher 35.6 (Sept. 1973).

"Plankton of a Variable Level Flood Control Reservoir." Proceedings of the Iowa Academy of Science 75 (1968): 48.

"Planktonic Diatoms from the Coralville Reservoir." Iowa Academy of Science 74 (1967): 17.

"Population in Relation to Pollution: The Educational Implications." Spore 4.3 (Mar. 1972): 8.

"Prediction of Success in BSCS Biology at the 9th Grade Level." Iowa Science Teacher's Journal 2.2 (Dec. 1964):33-35.

"Radiation." Iowa Science Teacher's Journal 3.4(Apr. 1966): 74-77.

"Rain." American Poetry Anthology 6.3 (Fall 1986): 133.

"Science Equipment that Children and Teachers can Build." Science and Children 2 (1979).

"Teaching Ecological Concepts- Cation Exchange." American Biology Teacher 48.7 (Oct. 1986): 406-408.

"Teaching Ecological Concepts: An Experimental Lotic Community." American Biology Teacher 40.9 (Dec. 1978): 572.

"Teaching Ecological Concepts: Standing Crop and Productivity." American Biology Teacher 37.5 (May 1975): 289-290.

"Test on Understanding Science: A Comparison." Journal of Research in Science Teaching 5.4 (1968): 365.

Semerjian, Harry

Arts Education Primer. Lanham: University Press of America, 1985. Special Collection NX290.S46 1985.

Integrating Music Learning Theory into the Non-Music Major College Curriculum. Chicago: G. I. A. Publications, 1989: 365-372. Special Collection MT1.R37 1989.

Spencer, Richard James

"An Empirical Study of Elementary Teacher's Attention As Reinforcement for Student Behavior."  Child Study Journal 3.3 (1973): 145-158.

Thomas, Edmund

"The Columbian Stamp Scheme of 1894." American Philatelist (Jan. 19790): 37.

"The Emergency Relief Committee of Fitchburg, 1931-1934." Historical Journal of Massachusetts 12.2 (June 1984): 132-143.

"The Fournier Forgeries of the 1878 Issue of Panama." American Philatelist (Feb. 1978): 144-146.

"Lips That Touch Liquor Shall Never Touch Mine." Harrod Lecture Series 15 (Jan. 1996): 7-32.

"The New England Textile Strike of 1922: Focus on Fitchburg." Historical Journal of Massachusetts 15.1 (Jan. 1987): 21-32.

Patriotism vs. Academic Freedom: The Teacher's Oath of 1935. Westfield: Westfield College, 1989: 188-219.

Politics in the Land of Steady Habits: Connecticut's First Political Party System, 1789-1820. Clark University, 1972. Special Collection JK2295.C66 T56 1972.

"The Postage Stamps of Panama." Philatelic Literature Review 25: 130-137.

"The Provisional Issues of Panama: 1903-1906." OXCART 17 (June 1977): 46-48.

"School Suffrage and the Campaign for Women's Suffrage in Massachusetts, 1879-1920." Historical Journal of Massachusetts 25.1 (Winter 1997): 1-17.

"The Second Issue of Panama." OXCART 17 (Mar. 1977): 158-159.

"Sons of Philatelia." American Philatelist 109.12 (Dec. 1995): 1138-1143.

"A Subject Index To Ten Precancel Stamp Journals 1920-1980." Philatelic Literatue Review. 31.2: 67-80; 31.3: 131-156; 31.4: 195-216.

The Wyoming Land Dispute: A Study of Mediation in Early America. Kent State University, 1964.

Thomas, Rene

"Cutting Cove Moldings on the Table Saw." School Shop 40.4 (Dec. 1980): 28.

Wagner, Lynne

"Connecting to Nurse-Self Through Reflective Poetic Story." International Journal for Human Caring (Summer 2000): 7-12.

"Within The Circle of Death: Transpersonal Poetic Reflections on Nurse's Stories about The Quality of The Dying Process." International Journal for human Caring (Summer 1999): 21-30.

Wiegersma, Nancy

"Agrarian Differentiation in Southern Vietnam: A Comment." Journal of Contemporary Asia 15.4 (1985): 474-481.

"The Asiatic Mode of Production in Vietnam." Journal of Contemporary Asia : 19-33.

"Regional Differences in Socialist Transformation in Vietnam." Economic Forum 15 (Summer 1983): 95-109.

"State Policy and the Employment of Women's Industries in Nicaragua." Women in the Age of Economic Transformation. New York: Routledge, (1994): 192-205.

"State Policy and The Restructing of Women's Industries in Nicaragua." Women in the Age of Economic Transformation. 1994.

"United States Intervention in Vietnam and El Salvador." Harrod Lecture Series 7 (1985-1986): 3-22.

US Economic Development Policies towards the Pacific Rim. New York: St. Martin's Press, 2000. Special Collection HC681.W54 2000.

Vietnam: Peasant Land, Peasant Revolution. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1988. Special Collection HD1537.V5 W54 1988.

"Vietnam Revisited." Journal of Contemporary Asia 18.2 (1988): 250-253.

The Women, Gender & Development Reader. London: ZED Books, 1997. Special Collection HQ1240.W6568 1997.

"Women In The Transition To Capitalism: Nineteenth to Mid-twentieth Century Vietnam." Research in Political Economy 4 (1981): 1-28.

Yee, Nancy

"Thomas More: In Defense of Tribulation." Moreana 19.74 (June 1982):13-26

Writing Proficiency Examinations: A New Perspective on Writing Labs. ED236678 (ERIC Fiche). Fitchburg, MA: Fitchburg State College, (1983): 17 pages.

Writing Proficiency Examinations: A Report. Fitchburg: ca1983.

Zide, Michele Moran

"Growing more social, day by day," Michele Moran Zide and Barbara Enman Shaw. Fitchburg, MA.; Parent Education Outreach Publications, c1990.

Mathematics Curricukum-Kindergarten through grade twelve. ED282744 (ERIC Fiche). Fitchburg, MA: Fitchburg State College, (1987): 153 pages.

Zottoli, Robert

Accuracy of Published Records of Bahamian Polychaetes and Incremental Sampling. Ts. Fitchburg. Proceedings of the 7th Symposium on The Natural History of the Bahamas, June 13-17, 1997.