Research Help: Forensic Nursing Research Guide: Databases

Type in the name of a journal to see if the AVGC Library has access to it online or in our print collection:

To find journal articles

IF you seek scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, these suggested databases will provide full-text content.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Access to full text, abstracting and indexing of over 270 core journals covering research areas in international criminal justice and criminology such as criminal law, corrections, policing & investigation and forensic science.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information on health-related questions
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic (Now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal (including cases and legislation), medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Includes reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, International relations.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
PubMedCentral This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.

Important Forms

Request a Book, CD, Video, etc. from Another Library

If we don't have a book you need then we will get it for you, for free, from another library.

Request a copy of an Article, copy of a chapter from a book, etc. from Another Library

If we don't have access to the article you need then we will get it for you, for free, from another library. Include your mailing address so we can send it to you.

Forming a Search Strategy (worksheet)
A printable worksheet you can use any time you need to develop a search strategy to find materials for your research papers and projects.
Scholarly Journal Checklist
What is a scholarly journal (also known as a peer reviewed journal or an academic journal)? How can I tell if an article is scholarly? Use this checklist to help you!

Forensic Nursing Research Guide: Databases

Find articles

Journal Locator Search Tool

To find journal articles

Important Forms