Research Help: Nursing Research Guide: Databases

To begin

Your task is to find scholarly, research articles. Google and Wikipedia are fun but are not going to yield any full-text articles. The Library subscribes to a number of nursing database that contain thousands of full-text articles. You may access all of our databases from home with your Falcon ID and Password.

Important Forms

Forming a Search Strategy (worksheet)
Search Strategizing Cheat Sheet
A 1-page quick guide of search tricks to make your search more effective.
Scholarly Journal Checklist

ILLiad: Get Articles from Another Library

ILLiad
Our interlibrary loan (ILL) system. Provide us with the information about the item you want and we will try to get it for you from another library.

Find Articles: Nursing

These databases are probably ones you will want to search first. There are other additional databases in related subjects below this section.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
Cochrane Collection Plus This link opens in a new window
Collection of health care data for providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating in medical professions.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text of nursing and allied health journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Find complete, full-text information from leading nursing, allied health, and related publications. Includes reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.

HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)
A database of citations to research-in-progress funded by federal and foundation grants and contracts, became available in 1995. HSRProj builds upon a database developed in prototype by staff of AcademyHealth and the Cecil Sheps Center at the University of North Carolina with funding from the Pew Charitable Trust. It includes over 5,000 citations to ongoing or recently completed research funded since 2000.

Related Databases: Nursing

These subject specific resources allow you to search for articles from psychology, counseling, family issues, consumer health, biomedicine, sociology. Full-text articles are available.

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in many subjects.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
Full text journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.
ProQuest Healthcare Management This link opens in a new window
Articles pertaining to the business side of hospitals and healthcare. Find non-clinical information covering all aspects of health administration, including public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, population studies, labor relations and law.
ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Search full-text scientific journals covering the social sciences. Provides information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, Urban studies, Family studies, International relations.
PsycARTICLES (APA: American Psychological Association) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycINFO (APA: American Psychological Association) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage on topics: emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive sociology research database; contains full text for books and monographs, journals and conference papers.