Skip to main content

LEAD 1050/ENGL 1200: Writing II (Moser): Research Resources

Resources for students in Professor Moser's Honors English and Writing 2 courses.

Books in the Library

Try a Subject Search in the catalog with the following terms to find books in the library:

  • Big business--United States
  • Corporate power
  • Corporations--United States
  • Industries--Social aspects
  • International business enterprises
  • Labor--China
  • Labor unions--United States
  • Social responsibility of business

Reference

These print and online reference sources provide a good overview of corporations.

Citing Your Sources

Your professor has specified that your sources should be cited in the MLA style. Use the print MLA guide (at the circulation desk) or this site:

MLA Citation - Hacker

Citing in MLA - Purdue OWL

RefWorks

Create an account for free, and RefWorks will format your citations in MLA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, and many other formats.

RefWorks

Find Articles

Find articles in these databases on corporations, corporate power, business practices, and ethics:

Academic Search Complete - Multidisciplinary database covering many subjects.

Business Source Premier -Full text coverage in all disciplines of business research.

Communication & Mass Media Complete - Research sources in areas related to communication and mass media.

Issues and Controversies - Up-to-date, in-depth and objective information on the most prominent and hotly debated issues of the day.

Lexis-Nexis - Provides profiles of individual companies, corporations in the news, as well as legal cases and information.

Newspaper Source - Full-text of major national newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and NY Times, as well as the Boston Globe, Boston Herald, and the Worcester Telegram & Gazette.

Finding an Article with a Citation

Very often you will have a citation in hand - either from your professor, or from the bibliography of a book or another article. The easiest way to find the article in question is to use the library's Journal Locator.

Journal Locator

When you enter the name of the journal in which the article appeared, Journal Locator will search all of the library's databases as well as the print collection (located on the 2nd floor), and link you to the content for which you are searching, if it is available.

Useful Websites

Many primary documents are now scanned into larger archive collections on the web.

Subject Guide

Nancy Turnbull's picture
Nancy Turnbull
Contact:
HA-201A,, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library, Hammond Hall
978-665-4338