Skip to main content

ENGL 1200: Writing II (Railton): Home

MLA Style - Humanities

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style is primarily used for the humanities - English, philosophy, music, religion - but can also be used in other subjects.

RefWorks

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research.  RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your bibliography/references (whether annotated or not) and final paper in the correct style.  

You can use RefWorks to:

  • Organize references
  • Format bibliographies
  • Create a database of your own citations
  • Import references directly from library databases
  • Insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies using the Write-n-Cite tool
  • Share your citations with a group

ILLiad: Get Articles, Books or A/V from Another Library

Suggested Databases

Citation: The best research "cheat"

Just one good research article can help you find other articles on the same topic in four different ways:

  • Bibilography - The author had to research other studies for his own paper. The bibliography at the end of the paper is often a great place to find multiple related sources, all on the same topic.
  • Cited References - Some databases will also link you to studies that cite the article you've found. If a study cites an article, chances are it's on a related topic.
  • Vocabulary - Reading an article can give you a good idea of other terms and keywords with which you can search.
  • Content - What conclusions did the author draw? What limitatations of their own study did they identify? Try searching for other articles that address those limitations, for instance.

How to find an article from a citation

When you have a citation in hand, it's tempting to go to the database with which you're most familiar and type in the title of the article. But since Fitchburg State provides access to over 100 databases, the article is very likely indexed somewhere else.

The fastest way to find out if we have the full text of an article is to use the library's Journal Locator tool.

Find the title of the journal in your citation and type it into Journal Locator. In this example the title is Foreign Affairs:

        Blight, J. G., Nye, J. S., & Welch, D. A. (1987). The Cuban missile crisis revisited.
               Foreign Affairs, 66(1), 170-188.

If we have access to the journal, Journal Locator will link you right to it. Then follow the rest of the citation - date, volume, issue, and pages - to find the specific article. (In the above example, it would be 1987, volume 66, issue 1, pages 170-188.)

Want to see what journals are available in a specific discipline? Go to Journal Locator, and instead of using the search box, use the drop-down menu under "Browse journals by subject."

Public Services Librarian

Connie Strittmatter's picture
Connie Strittmatter
chat loading...
Contact:
HA-112A, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Hammond Hall
978-665-4222

Google Scholar

We know most searches for information start on Google. It's important to remember though, that Google's results are ranked by popularity, not necessarily authority. To locate the best source for your research topic, you should narrow your results.