Skip to main content

Writing II: (ENGL 1200 - Budz): Home

Library Databases

General databases

You can search the following databases to locate general articles on career and employment outlooks as well as specific career outlooks. 

Subject specific databases

You can also search for articles in databases related to your career choice. Below are suggested databases for those seeking careers in nursing, criminal justice and exercise science.

Database Search Strategies

Subject Headings

Try using these subject headings to locate articles in a database.

  • Job satisfaction
  • Employees - Attitudes
  • Employee attitudes
  • Career development

Quotation Marks vs. Phrase vs. AND

"career development" will only retrieve results in which the words appear exactly as written

 career development will retrieve results in which career and development are located in proximity to one another. Development could appear before career. The two words typically appear within 5 words of one another

Career AND Development will retrieve results in which Career and Development appear somewhere in the fields searched. They do not necessarily have to be within proximity of one another or as a phrase. Career could  appear in the first sentence of the abstract and Development could appear in the subject fields. 

Asterisk

Using an asterisk (*) at the end of a word will bring back variations of the word. 

Example: employ* will retrieve results with the words  employ, employs, employer, employee etc.  

 

Employment Statistics & Outlooks

screen shot of Occupational Outlook Handbook webpage

Public Services Librarian

Connie Strittmatter's picture
Connie Strittmatter
chat loading...
Contact:
HA-112A, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Hammond Hall
978-665-4222

Find Books

In the Gallucci-Cirio Library:

 

ILLiad: Get Articles, Books or A/V from Another Library