Skip to main content

COMM 9110: Communication Research Methods (Lorencova): Home

Research resources for Professor Lorencova's COMM 9110 course, Communication Research Methods

Writing a Literature Review

This short overview will show you all the component parts to a Literature Review:

Writing A Literature Review (UC Santa-Cruz)

In the Stacks

You'll find books on research in communications in a number of sections of the stacks. Try some of the following terms in a Subject Search in the catalog to find relevant titles:

  • Action research
  • Communication - Research
  • Communication - Methodology
  • Ethnology - Methodology
  • Ethnology - Research
  • Qualitative research
  • Social sciences - Research

Reference Resources

Our online reference database CREDO has the full text of a number of excellent resources on gender and communication:

Citing Your Sources

The library provides a research guide that will help you with almost everything you have to cite, in APA and MLA styles:

QuickGuide: Cite Your Sources

You can also register for a free RefWorks account, to manage citations and create bibilographies online:

RefWorks

Need help citing? Ask a Librarian!

Finding Books in the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog for books in the collection:

Gallucci-Cirio Library Search
Find books & more

Academic Research

These databases provide a good starting point for most topics related to your course. Database searches will allow you to search hundreds of magazines and journals in your discipline at the same time:

Find a Specific Journal

If you know the title of a specific journal you are looking for, but aren't sure whether Fitchburg State has access to it, check in Journal Locator. Searches show whether the title is available in one of our databases, or is available in the print periodicals collection on the 2nd floor.

Fitchburg State Journal Locator

Want to browse journals in a discipline? Go to Journal locator, type the subject term in the search box, and then choose "Title Contains All Words" from the drop-down menu. (i.e. "Gender")

Subject Guide

Sherry Packard's picture
Sherry Packard
Contact:
Office: HA 104
(978) 665-3515