Skip to main content

BIOL 2650: Neuroscience (Schoenfeld): Library Resources

Resources for Professor Schoenfeld's Neuroscience course (BIOL 2650).

In the Stacks

You'll find books on neuroscience in a number of places in the stacks. Try some of the following terms in a Subject Search in the catalog to find relevant titles:

  • Brain chemistry
  • Brain - Physiology
  • Cognition - Physiology
  • Cognitive neuroscience
  • Comparative neurobiology
  • Developmental neurobiology
  • Memory
  • Molecular neurobiology
  • Neural circuitry
  • Neurochemistry
  • Neurons
  • Neuropsychology
  • Neurosciences
  • Perception
  • Psychobiology
  • Senses and sensation
  • Synapses

Reference Resources

Our online reference database CREDO and our eBook collections have the full text of a number of excellent resources on neuroscience:

APA Style - Social Sciences

APA (American Psychological Association) Style is primarily used for the social sciences - psychology, sociology, criminal justice - but can also be used in other subjects.

CSE Style - Sciences

CSE (Council of Science Editors) Style is primarily used for the sciences - biology, chemistry, physics, computer science - but can also be used in other subjects.

Helpful CSE related sites to assist you with proper citations:

RefWorks

Citing your sources is one of the most important steps in doing research.  RefWorks will allow you to store and organize your citations as well as easily create your bibliography/references (whether annotated or not) and final paper in the correct style.  

You can use RefWorks to:

  • Organize references
  • Format bibliographies
  • Create a database of your own citations
  • Import references directly from library databases
  • Insert in-text citations, footnotes and bibliographies using the Write-n-Cite tool
  • Share your citations with a group

Finding Books in the Library Catalog

Search the library catalog for books in the collection:

Gallucci-Cirio Library Search
Find books & more

Locating Articles

These databases provide a good starting point for most topics related to your course. Database searches will allow you to search hundreds of magazines and scholarly journals in your discipline at the same time:

Find a Specific Journal

If you know the title of a specific journal you are looking for, but aren't sure whether Fitchburg State has access to it, check in Journal Locator. Searches show whether the title is available in one of our databases, or is available in the print periodicals collection on the 2nd floor.

Fitchburg State Journal Locator

Need to browse all journals that Fitchburg State holds in a discipline? Go to Journal locator, type the subject term in the search box, and then choose "Title Contains All Words" from the drop-down menu. (i.e. "neuroscience" or "cognition")

Leave the search field blank and use the "Browse Journals by Subject" drop-down to view all the journals in a particular discipline.

Subject Guide

Connie Strittmatter's picture
Connie Strittmatter
chat loading...
Contact:
HA-112A, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library
Hammond Hall
978-665-4222

ILLiad: Get Articles, Books or A/V from Another Library