Skip to main content

Art Research Guide: Books

Art Research Guide providing resources on the visual arts.

Distributed Learning - Additional Library Services

Distributed learning library services are the same on campus services (borrowing materials, interlibrary loan, library instruction, reference, reserves, etc.) tailored to meet the needs of our students & faculty in our extended campus and online courses and programs.This includes document delivery directly to your home and much more.

Books

Gallucci-Cirio Library Search

Books about art are shelved in the N-NZ section of the library on the 4th floor.

Below is also a selection of print reference titles you may find useful for your research. These are shelved on the 1st floor. It's often worthwhile to browse the shelves around your subject, as titles with similar subjects are shelved together.

Biography:
  • Artists of the Nineteenth Century and Their Works. REF N40.C4
  • Lives of the Great Twentieth Century Artists. REF N6489.L83
  • Women Artists, 1550-1950. REF N6350.H35 1977
Dictionaries:
  • Dictionary of Abstract Painting. REF ND35.B413
  • Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art. REF N7560.H34
  • Phaidon Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art. REF N6490.P46
Directories:
  • American Art Galleries: Illustrated Guide to Their Art & Artists. REF N510.A48
  • Art Museums of the World. REF N410.A78
  • Who's Who in Art. REF N40.W46
Encyclopedias:
  • Dictionary of Art. REF N31.D5 1996 34 vols. (This set has been called "the most comprehensive art reference" available.) 
  • Concise Encyclopedia of Surrealism. REF NX600.S9P7
  • Encyclopedia of Visual Art. REF N25. E25 1983 10 vols.
  • Encyclopedia of World Art. REF N31.E533 16 vols.
 

    Indexes

    Print indexes also provide information on where you can get articles or books, particularly articles that date before the 1990s. These volumes are shelved on the second floor of the library at the end of the periodicals. These can be confusing so don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help!

    Current journal articles can be found by using our online databases, encyclopedias or websites (see tabs at the top of this page).

    • Art Index, 1929-1950, 1957-1984.
    • Humanities Index, 1974/75-1983/84.
    • International Index, 1907-1965. Index to articles in the Social Sciences and Humanities. (Index was retitled Social Sciences and Humanites Index in 1965.)
    • Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1965-1974.(Previously titled the International Index.)

    Subject Guide

    Nancy Turnbull's picture
    Nancy Turnbull
    Contact:
    HA-201A,, Amelia V. Gallucci-Cirio Library, Hammond Hall
    978-665-4338